thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Did someone say donut?

You know that moment when you’re kind of tuning out of a conversation and suddenly, someone says something and you snap back to attention? Well, I had that moment flicking through some recipes online a couple of weeks ago. I was scrolling though my Reader when this jumped out at me:

*WARNING: They taste like a donut. Be prepared for euphoria.

All I remember seeing was ‘taste like donut’, and I did the equivalent of a double take on my laptop (I think it’s called a reverse scroll of the mouse wheel). The recipe I was looking at was on the inspirational blog, Can You Stay for Dinner, and it was a muffin recipe. A cinnamon sugar crusted muffin recipe at that. I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I am a huge fan of muffins, so to have a muffin that also tastes like a cinnamon donut is a bit like a dream come true *sigh*. There was no other choice for me but to make these muffins. This recipe makes 12 insanely delicious muffins.

Did someone say donut muffins?
1¾ cup flour
1½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
½ tsp ground nutmeg
½ tsp ground cinnamon
⅓ cup oil
¾ cup white sugar
1 egg
¾ cup milk

Cinnamon sugar topping
50g butter, melted
⅓ cup white sugar (granulated not caster)
1 tbs ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 180ºC (fan-forced). Sift in together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, combine the oil, sugar, egg and milk. Fold in the dry ingredients until just combined. Don’t worry too much if your mixture looks lumpy.

Grease the muffin pan with a little melted butter and spoon the batter evenly among the cups.

Chuck the muffin tray into the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the middle of muffin comes out clean. Pull the muffins out of the pan while they are still hot onto a wire rack to cool slightly.

Melt remaining butter in a bowl. Combine the white sugar and cinnamon in another bowl.

Brush the muffins with the melted butter, and dip them into the sugar/cinnamon mix to coat. Put muffins back onto the wire rack to cool completely.

Too yummy to wait

Note: I haven’t made any amendments, but if you would like to see the original recipe, click here.

Single Post Navigation

36 thoughts on “Did someone say donut?

  1. Ooooh… looks so tempting… and I do have everything in the cupboards…..

  2. i’ll try it today, tqvm for the recipe

  3. I could almost bite into the screen. One for breakfast, please!

  4. Oh!! And all of the ingredients are in my pantry and I was planning a cooking/baking day today anyway and I am off and running!! Thank you. Perfect way to start the morning!!

    • You’re welcome Shelley! Let me know how you go with the recipe :)

      • Great. They were all gone before lunch. (6 in the family so they each knocked out two pretty quickly). You are right – the texture was just like a cake donut. I am thinking of trying the butter and cinnamon/sugar on a lighter textured muffin for a Cinnamon Toast muffin. What do you think?

      • I think that’s a great idea! I just had a thought, you could half fill the muffin holes then add a teaspoon of jam then add more mixture over the top – then chuck it in the oven. They could be jam cinnamon donut muffins! I’m glad to hear your family liked them :)

      • Or coat them in powdered sugar instead of the cinnamon and sugar and you would have a jelly donut!!

      • Oh yeah! That is a great idea! I might try a batch with half cinnamon sugar and half powdered sugar. Great idea Shelly!

  5. Pingback: Cinnamon Mini Muffin « House Of The Ugly Mother

  6. THese look delicious! I might try them with a dollop of jam in the middle of the batter. Thanks for sharing

  7. I’m not a big fan of donuts, but love muffins. These look tasty though!
    P.S. If you love muffins so much, you gotta love my muffin series. Two more installments to go ;-)

  8. I just made them for afternoon tea… .biting into one now…. nom nom nom :D

    delicious!!

    • They’re not bad, huh? Now, I feel like I really need to make a batch for myself – STAT!

      • They were good!

        I left the recipe quite lumpy like you said which worked out fine. I found I only got 10 muffins, but I use muffin trays that aren’t small. I found the amount of butter, sugar and cinnamon for the topping was quite a lot, I probably only needed half that amount for my 10, and I was a generous with it as I could be. :)

      • I buttered the entire muffin then rolled the whole thing in the cinnamon sugar. Did you do that too? Having half left over is a lot!

      • Ah no – I used cupcake liners, so I only buttered & sugared the tops. That explains it! Next time I’ll do the whole thing :)

  9. petit4chocolatier on said:

    Oh my.., cinnamon donuts are my favorite. A donut muffin is so much better :)

  10. Belinda Lombard on said:

    If they taste like donuts, then I am in! I will put this on my to do list this weekend. :)

  11. My boyfriend has been asking for home-made donuts; maybe I’ll get these a whirl before attempting the later! Thanks for the recipe.

  12. OMG!! I’ve gotta try this one asap. Looks so delish!

  13. You had me at donut. Yum.

  14. Pingback: Coffee-time Craving: Cinnamon Coffee Muffins «

Leave a Reply

What Jessica Baked Next...

Food & Fun in the Kitchen

The Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

A blog about the sweeter things...

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

University Skillz

I see what you did there...But let me show you how to to it better ;)

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

David Lebovitz

Just another WordPress.com site

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny. Eats. Design.

A blog loosely based on food, long eared critters and graphics

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Canberra's eating machine

I Only Eat Desserts

Adelaide based food blog with a sprinkle of travel

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,436 other followers

