thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Double love for breakfast

I love muffins. I love muffins because they are like oversized cupcakes, and who doesn’t love cupcakes? I also love bacon. I am very fond of a massive cooked breakfast with eggs, bacon, tomato, mushrooms and spinach. So, when I discovered a recipe for savoury muffins on one of the blogs I am following (you must check out Keeping Up With The Holsbys), I was really excited because what’s better than combining two things you love into something you can eat?! The original author of the recipe assigned these tasty morsals to being a breakfast food, but I think you can just eat them whenever you want.  This recipe makes 12 muffins.

Double Love Breakfast Muffin

2 cups of self-raising flour, sifted
1 cup grated cheese
1 small zucchini, grated
2 rashers of bacon, finely chopped
1 small brown onion, finely chopped
1 egg
1 cup milk
¼ cup olive oil
1 tsp of mixed herbs (I used Masterfoods Pizza Topper)

Preheat oven to 180˚C. Line the muffin pan with patty pans or if you don’t have patty pans, lightly grease the holes with melted butter (I used patty pans).

Heat a frying pan over medium heat. If you are not using a non-stick fry pan then add a little oil, otherwise add the onion and bacon and cook until the onion is soft and translucent.

Cook onion and bacon

Meanwhile, combine the flour, cheese, zucchini and mixed herbs in a bowl. In a jug, mix the egg, milk and oil. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients and mix well. Be careful not to over mix because you’ll end up with a really dense muffin. Tip: if you are finding your muffin mixture is dry, add a little more milk.

Dry ingredientsMuffin mixture

Spoon the mixture into the muffin pan and throw into the oven for about 25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Almost thereBacony Muffiny goodness

For the most satisfying eating experience, eat these muffins warm.

I have altered the original recipe so if you would like to try the original recipe, click here. Note: the original recipe says to use wholemeal flour. Please don’t make the mistake I did and think this means plain flour. It’s actually wholemeal self-raising flour. Using plain flour will make your muffins inedibly (is that a word?) dense and doughy. I found this out the hard way.  The above was actually my second attempt at making the muffins.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Double love for breakfast

  1. These sound divine!

  2. Mmmmmmmmmmuffins………..they look really yummy.
    Nice work. I love people messing with my recipes. You sure work neater than me 😉

    • Thanks! My muffins aren’t as exciting as yours because my BF can be a bit fussy about food. I absolutely love your blog though, and can’t wait to explore more of your recipes.

      Thanks for checking out my post!

  3. Pingback: Can’t get enuffin of muffins « thecookingchook

  4. Reblogged this on comicbooksandcandy and commented:
    Looking for different breakfast options…save me from buying toast and coffee from the cafe near work! This is an idea..

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

