thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Must make lemon tart

About two weeks ago, I went to a wonderful Italian restaurant in Adelaide, called Chianti, for my partner’s mother’s birthday. For dessert, my partner and I decided it would be a good idea to share a dessert considering we had eaten a copious amount of food.  We agreed upon a lemon tart that had a chocolate base and it was so fabulously delicious that I thought to myself “I must make this tart!”. So, here’s the deal, I know what the tart tastes like but I have no idea what ingredients are in it. This means that I’ll be winging it and hoping for the best that the tart I make is similar to the one I ate.  This tart should be able to serve 8-10 people.  For those playing at home, this is what the tart looked like in the restaurant.

Must make lemon tart
200g Arnott’s Choc Ripple biscuits (or any type of plain chocolate biscuit)
80g unsalted butter (Western Star Chef’s Choice Unsalted butter)
50g dark chocolate (Plaistowe Premium Dark Cooking Chocolate)

Lemon curd
3 whole eggs
1 egg yolk
½ cup caster sugar
2/3 cup lemon juice (roughly 3 lemons)
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon
100g unsalted butter, chopped

Grease a 24cm round flan pan with a loose base.

Place biscuits into a food processor and process the biscuits to a fine crumb.  If you are like me and you don’t have a food processor to whiz the biscuits, you can put the biscuits into a zip lock bag and bash them using a rolling pin, or my implement of choice, a meat mallet.

Place the butter and the dark chocolate into a heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water, ensuring that the base of the bowl doesn’t touch the water, and stir until melted. Remove from the heat and stir into the biscuit crumbs. Press the biscuit mixture into the base and sides of the flan pan and chuck in the fridge to chill for about an hour.

To make the lemon curd, whisk the eggs and egg yolk with the caster sugar in a heat proof bowl until it is well combined. Add the lemon zest and lemon juice, whisking constantly until combined. Put the bowl over a pan of simmering water, once again ensuring that the base of the bowl doesn’t touch the water.  Cook this mixture whilst stirring constantly with a wooden spoon for about 20 minutes or until it thickens to a custard-like consistency. It’s very important that you do not allow the mixture to boil as this will scramble the eggs and you’ll end up with a lemony omelette! Remove from the heat and stir in the chopped butter.

Pour the lemon curd into the chilled tart base.  Cover the tart with cling wrap and pop it back into the fridge to set overnight.

When you are ready to serve the tart, I highly recommend that you warm up the sides of the flan pan before trying to push the tart out, because the tart will end up breaking apart if it’s too cold.  Also, warm up your knife by running it under warm water before slicing the tart – this will makes things so much easier.

So, you must be thinking, “does the tart taste like the one from the restaurant?”. I think it is quite close.  The filling of the restaurant tart was a little sweeter, but I like a little more tartness if the base is going to be quite sweet. Also, I might make this again using a chocolate pastry base to see how the base affects the overall taste and texture of the tart.  All in all, I’m very happy with the result!

Note: I have based the lemon curd on a recipe I found online. Click here if you would like to see the original recipe.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Must make lemon tart

  1. This looks amazing! I want to make a unique dessert for Thanksgiving so I may try this recipe.

    • Thank you! This is one of the favourite desserts I’ve made so far. I loved the contrast between the chocolatey sweetness of the base with the tartness of the lemon curd. If you end up making it, I would love for you to let me know how you went and if you liked it.

  2. Pingback: My love affair with French macarons | thecookingchook

  3. Pingback: What do you do with leftover lemon curd? Make lemon curd butterfly cupcakes! | thecookingchook

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

