thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yearny chocolate croissants

As I mentioned in a previous post, my love affair with all things Frenchy began a couple of years ago. After attending my first pâtisserie cooking class earlier this week, seeing all the Frenchy pictures hanging on the kitchen walls and hearing the French accent of the pâtissier made me feel a bit yearny for France. Yearny for all the great things I enjoyed about France, in particular the pastries. During my last trip to Paris, I would have at least three or four pastries just to start each day. I couldn’t help myself. They were so buttery and tasty. My favourite French pastry has to be the pain au chocolat, also known as the chocolate croissant. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for making things from scratch but I really didn’t want to spend a couple of days making the croissant pastry, plus there would be no way I could wait that long to eat something so delicious. Scouring through my cookbooks, I came across a delightful recipe by Nigella Lawson in her book Nigella Express. I call it delightful because it’s quick and easy. So quick and easy in fact, that there are only 3 ingredients and I was able to eat my creations 30 minutes after I started making them. What more could I ask for? This recipe makes 12 yummy croissants.

Yearny chocolate croissants
375 gram ready-made puff pastry (I used Carême All Butter Puff Pastry)
100 grams dark cooking chocolate
1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 220°C. Unroll the sheet of pastry and then cut it into six squares. Because my bench space is smallish, I took each square and further rolled the pastry out until it was roughly 12cm x 12cm. If you have a larger space to work with, you can further roll the pastry out before cutting it into squares.

Cut each square diagonally to give 2 triangles. Position the triangle with the wider edge facing you, and the point of the triangle away from you.

Cut off small pieces of chocolate (about 5mm width) and place them on the pastry triangles, about 2cm up from the wide end.

Carefully and gently roll the chocolate-laden end towards the point of the triangle. It should look like a thin cigar.

Lightly, with your fingertips, seal the ends of pastry and curl it around to form a crescent. Place the chocolate croissants on a baking tray lined with baking paper and brush liberally with the beaten egg.

Bake for about 15 minutes until they are golden and puffed up.

Note: This has been one of the few times where I have not altered the original recipe. I’ve promised myself that the next time I make chocolate croissants, I will take the time to make the pastry from scratch (maybe). If you want to have a gander at the original recipe, click here. You can also find the recipe on page 98 of Nigella Express. Also, if you are not familiar with Carême Pastry products, I suggest you check them out here. I sampled some of their pastry products at the Adelaide Good Food and Wine Show recently and fell in love. With pastry that tastes this good, especially for ready-made pastry, who would want to make their own pastry from scratch? Please note that I am in no way affiliated with Carême Pastry, but I will give credit when credit is due.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Yearny chocolate croissants

  1. Love the title of your post! These look far too yummy for me to make as I old end up scoffing the lot 😉

  2. Those look delicious!

  3. Oh wow, those look great! Can completely understand your love of French patisserie – living in Bordeaux at the moment & some of the cakes in the patisseries look like little mini works of art… and taste divine too 🙂

  4. Looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  5. This looks super delicious! Two things in the world that scare me are making pastry and anything to do with dough but you’ve made these look simple enough for me to try

  6. I’ve never made pastry dough from scratch either, but am thinking about trying it once to do a side-by-side comparison with store-bought stuff.

    You did in fact make chocolate croissants, as I’m sure you know pain au chocolat has a different shape. I bet they were great — I love them too!

    I love your “I love food” logo by the way 🙂

    • I would think making the pastry dough from scratch would be a lot better, but it’s a couple of days worth of work. If I had the time and patience, I would make it from scratch but if not, then store bought is the next best thing. I could’ve made these in the shape of the proper pain au chocolate, but the shape of the croissant is more aesthetically appealing to me. Although, they all taste good regardless of shape!

  7. I love chocolate croissants, and yours look delicious! I am learning French and hope to travel to Paris someday. Also, thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • And thank you for checking out mine! It’s wonderful that you are learning to speak French. I learnt a bit of conversational French before I went on my first trip and it definitely a handy skill to have.

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

