thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Freak out mango fro-yo

You know that summer is a comin’ when the temperature outside reaches 34°C (93°F in the ye olde scale) in the middle of spring! Adelaide tends to run a bit hot in the warmer months, which is fine because there is no humidity making the heat bearable. Another indicator that summer is on its way is when the tropical fruits start appearing at the green grocers. I love fruit in general, but I absolutely freak out about summer fruits. Everything just seems to be juicier and sweeter. I’m always left with a stupid grin on my face with fruit juice running down my chin whenever I’m eating them (maybe I need to learn not to be such a messy eater). Recently, I read a blog post about a frozen yoghurt recipe on one of my favourite blogs, Keeping Up With The Holsbys, and I thought it would be a great idea to have a crack at making it over summer.  It just so happens that my parents (who are crazy about summer fruits too – coincidence?) had bought a whole box of mangos a couple of weeks earlier, and when I visited them for our weekly Monday night dinner, they offered a couple to me. I’m not the type to be rude and refuse free food, so I took them with this frozen yoghurt recipe in mind. This recipe makes about one litre of frozen yoghurt.

Freak out mango fro-yo
2 very ripe mangoes, peeled, pipped and chopped (this equates to roughly 2 cups or 300g)
100g caster sugar
500g greek or natural yoghurt

Chuck the mango flesh into a blender and blend in short pulses.  Stop blending when the flesh is almost smooth but you can still see bits of mango flesh in the puree.  You don’t want to liquefy the mango, because the best part about fruity frozen yoghurt is the texture of eating bits of fruit with the creaminess of the yoghurt.

Put about 2 tablespoons of the puree into a small saucepan with the sugar over low heat.  Stir until the sugar dissolves.  If you’re finding that the sugar isn’t dissolving, add a little more mango puree.

Add the mango and sugar mixture to the rest of the mango puree in the blender and give it a short pulse to combine.  Then add the yoghurt and blend, in short pulses, until combined.

Pour the yoghurt mixture in a freezer-safe bowl or metal cake tin and whack that into the freezer.

Every hour for the next couple of hours, pull the yoghurt out and give the mixture a good stir, with a spoon, to break up any icy bits.  Then leave the yoghurt in the freezer for 3 hours. Take the yoghurt out again and give it one last really good stir so that it resembles soft serve.  Then put it back in the freezer for another hour or two until it firms up.

Note: Although the frozen yoghurt was really yummy, this process was rather long-winded without an ice cream machine. Guess what is going on my Birthday/Christmas wish list for this year? *hint hint* Also, you might find that the frozen yoghurt is a little hard when you pull it out of the freezer before serving, so just leave it out for a few minutes and it will soften up enough for you to scoop. I can’t wait to try some other fruits, such as berries and stone fruit.  Bring on summer, I say! I consulted a couple of recipes for this one, so to see the originals, click here for the first recipe and here for the second recipe.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Freak out mango fro-yo

  1. Yummy! There would be grave fears for my waistline if I owned an ice-cream machine…

  2. Ha! I love the name! And such a simple list of ingredients. Sounds delicious to me!

  3. Mango + yogurt = one of the greatest combinations ever. Also now that I got an ice cream maker for my most recent birthday, I have no excuses for not making this!! I have mango in my freezer to make sorbet, but after this post I might have to try out frozen yogurt instead. Yummm.

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

