thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Cafe Saba Adelaide – Review

Whenever someone tells me that there is a new Pho joint in town, I always say “take me there post haste!”. Pho is one of my favourite Vietnamese dishes, and my Mum makes the best Pho that I have ever tasted (biased? – maybe). As you can imagine, because of the high standards that my Mum has set, I’m super critical when it comes to trying other people’s version of the dish. This is especially true if I have to pay my hard earned cash for it. My Manager at work was raving on about how she had found a great Vietnamese eatery, called Cafe Saba, in the Eastern suburb of Norwood that served really delicious Pho. Really? In Norwood? Gotta check this out for myself…. So, one day for lunch we decided to head over there so I could sample Cafe Saba’s wares. I swear, if no one told you where this place was, you would never find it. It’s tucked right at the back of this place called the Parade Pavillion (a place I had never heard of before). The eatery itself is tiny, with half a dozen or so tables inside and isn’t “dressed to impress’ if you know what I mean. However, it does have a really cute and leafy outdoor dining area which I could see being a lovely place to eat when the weather is warm. What about the Pho, I hear you ask? Well, the Pho was surprisingly good and they used fresh noodles, not the dried stuff. Nowhere near as good as my Mum’s of course, but if I were inclined to pay for Pho, I would come to Cafe Saba to do it. Bear in mind that you are going to be paying Eastern suburbs prices compared to going down to Hanson Road, but if you live in that area you would pay the extra few dollars not to have to drive 20 to 30 minutes to get good Vietnamese food. Besides Pho, Cafe Saba do have other menu items such as rice and vermicelli combos, salads (we ordered the chicken and prawn to try – that was tasty), rice and egg noodle soup, banh mi, just to name a few.

Prices range from $6-$9.50 for an entree or soup, $11.50-$13.50 for a bowl of Pho, rice/egg noodle soup or Laksa, $9.90-$16.50 for the rice or vermicelli combos, $9.50-$11.50 for salads and $17.50-$22 for DIY cold rolls.

What’s the score?
Food – 4/5
Ambience – 3/5
Service – 3.5/5
Value – 3/5
Total – 3.4/5

Would I go back? Yes. Even though I know I can get food (in particular Pho) that tastes just as good for a few dollars cheaper elsewhere, the convenience of having somewhere like this 5 minutes away from home is good enough for me to return but it would only be in those situations where I wasn’t up for a drive.

Cafe Saba
7/47 The Parade
Norwood SA 5067
(08) 8363 2006

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Cafe Saba Adelaide – Review

  1. My French Heaven on said:

    Great food it seems and great shots for sure. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pho is my fav Vietnamese cuisine too. Love it spicy, with lots of beef and Asian basil.

  3. Pho is one of my favorites during the cold days. What do you like to have in your Pho? I like EVERYTHING!

  4. naturaleuphoria on said:

    Looks yummy!

  5. That noodle soup in Thailand we called “Keaw Teaw Look Chin”. It’s one of popular dish in Thailand. You can find this dish everywhere in Thailand about $1-$2. 🙂

    • You can get this everywhere in Vietnam too for the same price. I didn’t know that Thailand had this dish, I was pretty certain that this is a Vietnamese dish. Do you mean that Thai have their own version?

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

