thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Don’t you dare white chocadamia cookies

I’m a little territorial when it comes to food, especially when I’m hungry. I have an issue with my blood sugar levels where it’s a fine line between me being happy and me being fungry (f@#*ing hungry) or hangry (hungry angry). My mood is also quite changeable if anyone tries to get in between me and my food, especially if it’s something sweet. If anyone is brave enough to try and steal my sweet stuff, they will get the death stare that says “don’t you dare” and probably a good slap on the offending hand for good measure. I bring this up because I had a “don’t you dare” moment when I made some white chocolate and macadamia cookies recently. My partner and I were at the dinner table, having a chat, and sharing the cookies I just baked. He already had two and gave me half of a third one. I started to chomp on my half cookie, feeling quite pleased with myself because they turned out beautifully. I put part of what was left down to get myself a drink. Out of the corner of my eye, I see my partner’s hand reach for the last morsel of MY cookie. Quick as lighting, I slapped his hand and gave him the “don’t you dare” stare. That’ll teach him to go after my cookie…… I don’t know why he had to try and take what was mine when there were 9 other whole cookies he could’ve taken. Sheesh! Anyway, this recipe makes roughly 24 cookies. Guard them well my friends because I can guarantee people won’t be able to stop at just one.

Don’t you dare white chocadamia cookies
125g butter, softened
⅓ cup (70g) caster sugar
⅓ cup (70g) brown sugar
1 egg
¾ cup (115g) plain flour
¾ cup (115g) self-raising flour
110g toasted macadamias, coarsely chopped
180g white cooking chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 180°C. If you have 2 oven trays, line them both with baking paper. If you only have 1 oven tray at your disposal (like me), just line that one.

Use an electric mixer to beat the butter and the two sugars together until pale and creamy. Add the egg and beat until just combined.

Add the two flours and mix with a wooden spoon to combine. Add the macadamias and chocolate. You may need to use your hands to combine the macadamias, chocolate and cookie dough.

Roll tablespoonfuls of mixture into balls and place on the lined trays, about 5cm apart. Use the palm of your hand to flatten slightly.

Chuck the cookies in the oven. If you have 2 baking trays, then swap the trays halfway through cooking, for 12 minutes or until lightly golden and almost crisp. Otherwise, if you only have one tray, you’ll have to pull one lot of cookies out to cool and repeat the previous step until you use up all the cookie dough. Then, remove that lot of cookies from oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Note: This recipe was so good that I didn’t change a single thing. If you would like a printer friendly version of the recipe, click here.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Don’t you dare white chocadamia cookies

  1. these looks amazing!

  2. Glad you stopped your partner from eating the last bite of your cookie! I’d take issue with anyone who got between me and my food, too. : ) These look great.

  3. I’m going to try these. They look brilliant. My nigella cookies melded into one giant but tasty cookie on Sunday. I need practice!

    • Haha! At least with one giant cookie you’re less likely to have someone steal it. Let me know how you go with these and if you like them, because these were a real hit with my household and the very lucky few friends that I shared with.

  4. Reblogged this on Clair's Kitchen and commented:
    I am going to try these at the weekend. Delish looking.

  5. daisyandthefox on said:

    yum! white chocolate and macadamia! – what a winning combo!

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

