thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

These are a few of my favourite things – Food trucks

Something special happened in Adelaide about 18 months ago, a little food truck called Burger Theory appeared offering tasty burgers to the CBD folk, which just happens to include me. And when I say tasty burgers, I mean TAY-STEE burgers. Since then, a few more food trucks have come on to the scene, which include La Cantina Co (Mexican) and Chimichurri Grill (Argentinian) just to name a couple that I have come across recently. I love food trucks because it’s like having your favourite fast food delivered to your front door (or in my case my office building), and who doesn’t love stuff coming to you instead of you going to it? And don’t be mistaken into thinking that these food trucks just serve any ol’ reconstituted fast food muck like some of the other larger fast food players (who shall remain nameless). These guys lovingly hand-make their menu items from some pretty tasty ingredients. For example, my favourite Burger Theory burger is the No. 1 which consists of a 100% Coorong Angus Beef pattie, iceberg lettuce, tomato, American cheese, Truck sauce in a Breadtop bun. The meat for the pattie is ground everyday by the Burger Theory boys, and the beef comes from Coorong Angus Beef who have sensational beef products. I’m a regular consumer of their meat products, in particular their scotch fillets – beautiful marbling and very yummy! The great thing about the meat from Coorong Angus Beef is that they raise their cattle without the use of hormones, steroids or non-therapeutic antibiotics. How impressive is that? My favourite La Cantina Co menu item are their soft shell tacos, in particular the mild spiced pork and potato with pineapple salsa – nom nom nom. I have yet to try Chimichurri Grill, but these food trucks have a rotating location roster, which seems to bring them all to where my office is on Fridays, so I’m scheduling a lunch date with them next Friday.

If you haven’t experienced the gastronomic wonders of these food trucks, I highly recommend that you do. Make sure you get to the trucks early though, because there will be a huge line up as people crawl out from their office desks for lunch. Also, Burger Theory has a stationary version of what they do called Pearl’s Diner in Felixstow, so if you’re not in the CBD, have a wander out to the diner instead. If you are in the CBD and would like to know where these wonderful food trucks are going to be, you can follow them on Facebook or Twitter.

https://www.facebook.com/LaCantinaCo  @LaCantinaCo
https://www.facebook.com/ChimiGrill  @ChimichurriGrl
https://www.facebook.com/burgertheory @burgertheory

Note: I am in no way affiliated with any of the food truck peeps or Coorong Angus Beef, just in case you were wondering…..

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things – Food trucks

  1. Mmm…I’m hungry again.

  2. My French Heaven on said:

    Really love your blog! This makes me so hungry! Thank you so much for sharing.

  3. That is pretty cool. That wrap in particular looks very tasty! 😀

  4. I’ve tried Chimichurri Grill’s steak sandwich and it was SO GOOD. And I would recommend getting their dipping sauce as well, it’s to die for.

  5. I’m such a huge food truck fan! Love reading about what other cities are doing!

  6. There’s something really satisfying about finding great street food!

    I was at a street food party last night run by this amazing organisation called Kerb, who bring together quality traders. If you’re ever in London, I recommend stopping by on one of their market days and gorging 🙂

  7. I almost tried Burger Theory yesterday but got invited to a free BBQ instead – definitely next time though!!

  8. emodoll18 on said:

    NO!! It looks so tasty! I think I’m getting hungry! 😦

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

