thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Pingy Prawn Saganaki

You could be forgiven for thinking that it is the middle of summer in Adelaide right now, with the city having a good run of hot days (it was 38ºC/100ºF a couple of days ago). In my opinion, the best type of food to eat when it’s hot is seafood and I had been pondering for the last couple of weeks over what seafood-y dishes I could cook this summer. One of the foodie blogs I am really enjoying at the moment is Cook. Eat. Blog. This blog has a plethora of sensational recipes from all over the World with the dishes cooked by the blog owner, Lee. I highly recommend checking out Lee’s blog! I also follow Lee on Twitter, and he regularly tweets a random recipe from his collection. On this particular day, Lee just happened to tweet about his Prawn Saganki recipe. PING! Light-bulb moment! Two things went through my mind when I considered this recipe: 1) Prawns = seafood = summer dish, and 2) Saganaki = Greek food + Partner is half greek = must make this dish! Yes – all my thought processes are in the form of equations; it’s the scientist in me. With my mind made up, I gave this recipe a crack and it was delicious! My partner loved the dish so much that he said his Yia Yia (Grandmother in Greek) would be delighted knowing that I was cooking Greek food. So, thank you Lee for sharing such a great recipe! This recipe was enough for my partner and I to finish off completely, but we do love to eat so that’s no real indication how many serves this recipe makes. I think if you were having this as part of a Greek feast with other dishes, you could feed four people.

Pingy Prawn Saganaki
2 tbs olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
200ml white wine
4 medium ripe tomatoes; peeled, seeded and chopped
½ tsp white sugar
12 King prawns, peeled and deveined
100g Greek feta cheese
½ tbs fresh flat parsely, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
Lemon wedges for serving

Preheat a casserole dish in the oven at 220ºC.

Heat the oil in a large frying pan over medium heat and cook the onions for about 3-4 minutes until they are soft. Add the garlic and cook for a further 2-3 minutes.

Pour in the wine and cook down until the wine is mostly absorbed. Add the tomatoes and sugar and cook for 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Cook for a further 5 minutes or until the tomato breaks down a little.

Add the prawns and cook for 30 seconds. Take the casserole dish out of the oven and pour the prawn and tomato mixture evenly into the dish.

Crumble the feta over the top, and chuck the casserole dish back into the oven for 5 minutes. Sprinkle parsley over the top just before serving.

I served the prawn saganaki with hilopites (Greek pasta) and a green salad. I also squeezed a bit of the lemon over the saganaki and hilopites before chowing down. YUMMO!

Note: If you are not sure how to peel tomatoes, click here for a run down on some methods you can use. I like using the flame method because it’s the easiest and there is less ‘stuff’ involved. I have made some amendments to Lee’s recipe, so if you would like to see the original recipe, click here. I would also like to thank my Manager at work and her husband for supplying the beautiful truss tomatoes that were used in this dish.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Pingy Prawn Saganaki

  1. This is a yummy favourite at my house!! You are making me hungry!! :0)

  2. naturaleuphoria on said:

    Your post makes me hungry. I have to make that. Looks yummy! Thank you!

  3. Oo, this looks amazing! So many of my favorite ingredients and flavors, together in one dish! I’m bookmarking this one for sure.

  4. daisyandthefox on said:

    this looks delicious! and love the feta!
    such a lovely blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

