thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The Cooking Chook does Christmas – White Chocoberry Tartlets

Christmas is apparently less than four weeks away, and I thought maybe I would get into the spirit of things and post some Christmassy recipes leading up to the big day. Even though I am a baker at heart and I love to make desserts, I’ve decided to mix things up a little and attempt both desserts and mains. I am in no way a traditionalist, so there won’t be any turkey or ham recipes but I hope to find and share recipes that still encompass the Christmas spirit in one way or another but also has a dash of Australian flavour to it. The one thing that is a certainty about living in Australia is that there will be no white Christmas. In some ways this is a bit of a bummer, because it has been burned into my consciousness from a young age that Christmas is associated with winter and snow. In other ways, I’m kind of glad because I get rather whingey about being cold. Flicking through all of my Australian foodie mags, I’ve been seeing a lot of desserts with berries in them. Makes sense really because they are in season at the moment. So, with that in mind, I went on a search for a dessert recipe that used berries and this is what I found – White chocolate and berry tartlets. The white chocolate makes me think of Christmas, not sure why, maybe it has something to do with it being the same colour as snow? And the berries take care of the Australiana aspect. I like the idea of tartlets because you can make individual tartlets for each person and not have to worry about having to ‘serve’ people. Plus, it gives the illusion that you are not sharing with anybody; you have a whole tartlet all to yourself. It’s not like Christmas is about sharing, is it? 😉 This recipe makes 8 tartlets.

White Chocoberry Tartlets
1 sheet of ready-made shortcrust pastry (I use Careme’s Vanilla Bean Short Crust pastry)
180g white chocolate, chopped (I use Plaistowe Cooking Chocolate)
2 tbs Grand Marnier
2 eggs, separated
300ml thickened cream
⅓ cup (70g) caster sugar
Fresh raspberries and blueberries, to serve

Preheat oven to 200°C.

Divide the pastry into 8 portions. Each portion should be about 8x15cm rectangle, if not, roll the pastry out to size. Line the base and sides of a 6x12cm rectangular tart tin with removable bases with pastry. Continue with remaining pastry to make 8 tartlets. Place on an oven tray and chuck into the fridge for 15 minutes to rest.

Divide pastry sheet into 8Line tartlet tins with pastry

Combine chocolate and liqueur in a medium heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, ensuring that the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Cook, stirring with a metal spoon, until the chocolate melts and mixture is smooth. Don’t worry if it looks like the chocolate has seized. It will become smooth again when you add the egg yolks. Remove from heat, add the egg yolks and stir quickly to combine.

Cook chocolate and grand MarnierChocolate and Grand Marnier mixtureAdd egg yolks

Use an electric mixer to whip the cream until firm peaks form. Add half of the cream to the chocolate mixture and stir to combine. Add the remaining cream and gently fold until combined.

Whip creamChocolate and cream mixture

Use an electric mixer again, to beat the egg whites in a clean dry bowl until soft peaks form. Gradually add the sugar and beat until the mixture is thick and glossy. Add egg whites to the chocolate mixture and gently fold until just combined.

Beat egg whites to soft peaksAdd sugar and beat until think and glossyAdd chocolate mixture to egg whites

Use a fork to prick the bases of the pastry cases. Chuck the pastry cases in the oven for about 10 minutes or until golden and crisp. Remove from oven and set aside to cool. Spoon the chocolate mixture into each pastry case and chuck in the fridge to chill. Top with berries and dust with a little icing sugar to serve.

Spoon filling into pastry casesServe with berries and dust with icing sugar

Note: I have amended the original recipe, so if you would like to see it, click here. Also, I ended up with about half of the filling left over so next time I make this, I might reduce the amounts by half.

Single Post Navigation

39 thoughts on “The Cooking Chook does Christmas – White Chocoberry Tartlets

  1. They look so tasty!

  2. I love that the filling has white chocolate in it. It’s on my list to try. I’m looking forward to following future yummy recipes.

    Thanks for stopping by and liking a post at http://www.ourlittlefamlyadventure.wordpress.com. Come back again soon.

  3. These are gorgeous!! YUM!

  4. petit4chocolatier on said:

    These look magnificent!! Love them 🙂
    Triple yummy for Grand Marnier!

  5. These are gorgeous and they look scrumptious.

  6. Those look adorable! And like something that’d be very pricey at a French patisserie : )

  7. Hi, I have nominated your blog for ‘The Sunshine Award’.
    Please visit
    http://flyncook.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/thanks-for-the-award/
    for further details

    Thanks!

  8. daisyandthefox on said:

    these look lovely – and so delicious!! 🙂 mmm white chocolate 🙂

  9. There are amazing!
    Love your blog! 🙂

  10. These look fantastic! So colourful and the name just drew me in right away.

  11. Pingback: The Cooking Chook does Christmas – Chicken Roulade with Sage Stuffing « thecookingchook

  12. The Chocoberry recipe looks soooooo good, I might even try to tackle that. I love what I’ve seen so far on your blog, it has such a comfortable, warm vibe. Thanks for sharing.

    By the way, as I’m exploring cooking and finding I enjoy it a great deal, you know what scares me? Baking! Totally intimidated. But I shall conquer that by making tons of mistakes and learning…..

    • Hi Rick – thank you for checking out my blog and providing your feedback. I love cooking but baking is my forte. It’s my stress reliever. Just keep in mind that the more you bake, the better you become. I’m sure it would be the same with golfing – practise makes perfect. All the best with your cooking endevours! 🙂

  13. Yum! These are beautiful!

  14. wonderful tarts! With berries-always tasty!

  15. Looks so yummy, I may try this later this month 🙂

  16. fortyjarsfull on said:

    I will most certainly be making these 🙂

  17. Really beautiful. Wonder if I could make them in mini muffin pans since I don’t have the tiny tart pans.

  18. Pingback: How the Cooking Chook ended up in a food coma « thecookingchook

  19. leanderpanda on said:

    I made this for Christmas too! Except I used pre made tart casings and Kahlua instead of Grand Marnier. Delicious!

  20. Hennie Triana Oberst on said:

    Look so yummy.

  21. This looks so gourmet! I wouldn’t be able to stop eating these if I made them…

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

