thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

These are a few of my favourite things – Haigh’s Chocolates

If you’ve never had Haigh’s chocolates before, you are missing out on something incredibly special. Haigh’s has been selling chocolates in Adelaide since 1915 and now has a total of 14 stores, with 6 being in Adelaide, 6 in Melbourne and 2 in Sydney. Why is Haigh’s so special? Not only are the chocolates divinely tasty, but the quality of their products are exceptional in my opinion. I only need to have a piece or two to feel satisfied; I don’t feel the need to gorge myself on chocolate. I believe that is a sign of a high quality chocolate. My pupils dilate just thinking about them *swoony sigh* The other thing that is great about Haigh’s, is that it’s the only store I know that gives all of their customers a sample of their chocolate when shop you there! I love Haigh’s so much that I wanted to find out more about how they make their chocolates and see the processes behind their products. Haigh’s conduct free factory tours at their Parkside premises six days a week and I was lucky enough to nab a couple of spots for myself and my partner a few days before hand. These tours are really popular, so you usually need to book a few weeks ahead. The tour was really interesting and I learnt a couple of things that I didn’t know before about the chocolate making process. For example, cocoa trees only grow 20 degrees above or below the equator and that most of Haigh’s chocolates are hand-made and hand-wrapped (you’ll get to see this in action on the tour)! My favourite chocolate has to be their dark chocolate freckles with truffles and chocolate honeycomb block coming in a very close second and third. They also make their chocolates into the shape of some well known Aussie animals, including the Green Tree Frog, Murray Cod and Bilby.

So, if you happen to be in Adelaide, Melbourne or Sydney and you haven’t tried Haigh’s chocolates, I suggest you giddy up and get yourself some. If you are in Adelaide, I highly recommend making a booking for the chocolate factory tour as well. If you would like to check out Haigh’s products or find the location of a store, click here.

Haigh’s Chocolates Visitors Centre
154 Greenhill Road
Parkside SA 5063
(08) 8372 7070

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things – Haigh’s Chocolates

  1. My favourite is the milk chocolate covered Queensland nuts and the big frogs in green and gold foil.

  2. fortyjarsfull on said:

    Oh my word that store looks to die for !! Lovely Blog !

  3. My Life is My Style on said:

    amazing chocolates!

  4. petit4chocolatier on said:

    Looks like heaven!!

  5. naturaleuphoria on said:

    Good post! Did you know that the the original owner was trained at Lindt? 🙂

  6. Thanks so much for Posting – I’m off to Adelaide in the new year, so I’ll defo make it one of my stops! Watch my space 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

