thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

It was a very good year

*breaks into song* When I was thirty-something, it was a very good year. It was a very good year for cooking great food and receiving KitchenAid tools. And meeting great people in the blogosphere. I wonder what the next year will bring. When I was thirty-something.

OK – so maybe I should leave the singing to Frank Sinatra. If you’re not familiar with this song, check it out on YouTube. Even though there are still five days to go until the new year ticks over, I thought I’d take some time to reflect on the year that has been. This post is also to give thanks to a few people that have nominated me for blogger awards in the past couple of weeks, but I haven’t had a chance to acknowledge them for their nominations yet.

Let’s start with a bit of reflection. Here’s what my 2012 was like in dot points:

  • My heart got broken when I found out I didn’t make the cut for Medical school next year. I’ve picked myself up, dusted myself off and committed myself to sitting the entrance exam again in 2013 for 2014 entry.
  • I realised how much I love to cook, so I made a promise to myself to try a new recipe every week. So far, I have made good on this promise and have come across some lovely recipes. I’ve also contributed to some neighbours and friends putting on a couple of kilos – sorry.
  • Whilst throwing myself into cooking, I decided to start blogging about it. It is one of the great joys in my life at the moment. I’ve been lucky enough to come across some amazing people who share the same passions as me, and have provided me with lots of foodie inspiration.
  • I’ve met a couple of my culinary heroes, including Luke Nguyen and Matt Moran.
  • I am now the owner of a couple of KitchenAid appliances. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would EVER own anything KitchenAid. I thank my partner, his family and Santa for the privilege.

Now, to the award nominations….I would like to thank the following people for nominating me to receive these awards:

very-inspiring-blogger-award1

Thank you to Chef Randall at Savor the Food, for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I have honoured the rules of this award in the past, so if you haven’t had a chance to see what receiving this award entails, check out my Acknowledgements page.

Bloggers who I would like to add to the list of those who inspire me are:

  • TraMi at VietnamEazy – An amazing Vietnamese-American who is about to embark on her first writing project, a fictional novel about a Vietnamese family and how food affects their lives. A storyline that certainly resonates with me.
  • Irene at A Beautiful Day – Another amazing Vietnamese-American who runs marathons (crazy) and posts lovely recipes accompanied with delectable photos.
  • Mel at Beyond Thirty – One of my bestest friends in the whole World, a fellow voracious reader and all-round great person. Mel’s blog is mostly about the books that she reads, but it’s the little hints of honesty about her life and her passions that inspire me to try and become a better person.
  • Anthony at FoodMeUpScotty – I discovered Anthony via Twitter and he is all about great food that is served to you. I am amazed (and a little envious) of all the places that Anthony gets to eat at, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to emulate his dining conquests one day.
  • Stefan at Stefan’s Gourmet Blog – A Dutchman with an incredible handle on Italian food! Stefan has great skill and culinary breadth for a home-cook who, like me, works in the financial industry.
  • Adelaidefoodies – Another gem of an Adelaide blogger who is a wine chemist and ranked in the top 20 blogs on urbanspoon (Yowsers!). I really love reading about the foodie reviews around my hometown, and like other Adelaide food blogs I’ve come across so far, this blog inspires me to get out and explore my own city.
  • Cupcaketravels – The author of this blog had me a ‘Paris’. I love everything to do with France, and I’m certainly living vicariously through this blog. It inspires me to work harder at scheming my way back to France….

liebster-award

Thank you to Cupcaketravels for nominating me for the Leibster Award. I wasn’t quite sure what this award actually was about, so I did some Googling to find out about its meaning and origin. I found out that ‘Leibster’ is a German word meaning ‘dearest’ and that the original rules state that you have to nominate 3-5 bloggers who have less than 3,000 readers. How you know whether or not someone has less than 3,000 readers, I have no idea, but I’m going to nominate some bloggers anyway. There are some other rules associated with receiving this award. I’m going to list them in this post, but I’ll move the finer details to my Acknowledgements page.

  1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you – check.
  2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back – check.
  3. Answer the 11 questions proposed by the blogger who nominated you – check, these are on my Acknowledgements page.
  4. Select 11 people for the award – checkish. I think I’ll refer back to the original rules and nominate 3-5. I’ll let the new nominees decide whether they do this too.
  5. Pose 11 new questions to the new nominees – check, these are on my Acknowledgements page.
  6. Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere – check.

Here are the bloggers I nominate to receive the Leibster Award:

  • Cooking in Sens – I really have a thing for bloggers who live in France. This is the third blogger that I’ve nominated who lives in that wonderful country! A sensational blog about incredible food! The amazing pictures and recipes always stir up a hunger in me.
  • Judy at petit4chocolatier – I have a thing for sweet things and baking, and Judy’s blog is all about that! It’s hard to restrain myself from licking my laptop screen looking at Judy’s creations – sad, I know….
  • Life is Short. Eat Hard! – A fellow Aussie who is living abroad, this blog is about food whether it be at home or abroad. I love reading about this blogger’s foodie adventures.

Blog of the Year Award 2 star jpeg

Thank you to Adelaidefoodies for nominating me for the Blog of the Year 2012 award. Adelaidefoodies has been kind enough (or crazy enough) to nominate me to receive my first and second star for this award. The blogger I would like to nominate for this award is:

  • Cath at Confessions of a Glutton – This young lady is truly amazing and inspiring. Another fellow Aussie, living in Sydney who posts awesome recipes and thoughts about the foodie places she visits. Cath has been so much of an inspiration that the first recipe I tried using my beloved KitchenAid goodies, was one of her recipes!

The rules of the award are:

  1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ award, a link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs – check.
  2. Write a blog post and tell the nominated blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award – check.
  3. Please include a link back to this page ’Blog of the Year 2012 Award’ – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ – and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!) – check.
  4. Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them – check.
  5. You can now also join the Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience – This is optional, so I decided not to join the group.
  6. As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars… – check!

What an interesting year! I’ve ended this year on a great high, so I’m really looking forward to what 2013 brings. I’m not sure if this will be my last blog post for the year, but if it is, Happy New Year to everyone! Catch you all next year….

Single Post Navigation

26 thoughts on “It was a very good year

  1. petit4chocolatier on said:

    Congratulations!! Your heart and soul is truly seen throughout your blog! And with your new Kitchen Aid appliances we will all be very lucky too!!

    Thank you for the honor among all these wonderful blogs. I really appreciate it!!!

  2. Congratulations on the awards! Hope your holidays are merry and your wish for medical school comes true in 2013!

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination. I am glad that you enjoy reading about my exploits around town. I’ve only been blogging for 3 months so an still finding my way around the bloggersphere but am having a whole lot of fun.

    Have a great new year 🙂

    AC

  4. Congrats on your awards!! And Big Thanksfor nominating me and my blog http://www.VietnamEazy.com as your inspiration. It means so much that my story is inspiring to you. Keep up the great work – Trami

  5. Pingback: Grateful for a Great Year for VietnamEazy « VietnamEazy

  6. Pingback: It was a very good year by theCookingChook.com « VietnamEazy

  7. It looks like you have had an amazing year and hopefully many more to come. Good luck with your GAMSAT it is a very tough test and I am yet to even attempt it! I look forward to reading more fabulous recipes 😀

  8. Congratulations on so many accolades! That’s awesome – and thanks for clarifying the Leibster rules – I was a little confused on that one myself as I also found two sets of instructions 🙂

    Hope you have just as good a year, if not better, next year (and good luck for the med school exam)

    • Thank you 🙂 I was really curious to know what Leibster meant, and then I stumbled upon these other rules that were a bit different (and easier for me to fulfill). Hopefully, 2013 will be the last year I need to sit this exam, because I don’t know how much more effort I can put in *fingers crossed*

  9. Thank you very much for the Blog of 2012 award! I’m glad that award has less rules than the others 😛 Enjoy your last couple of days of 2012, and I have my fingers crossed for you getting into med school and lots more of your cooking adventures in 2013!

  10. Congratulations on your awards and thanks for sharing the Blog of the Year award!

  11. nancymn on said:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog for a Like. I have a chocolate blog as well:
    http://achocolatelife.wordpress.com/. Oh, and your photos are done with an iPhone? Nice!

  12. Yay for KitchenAid appliances! I only have a K5 mixer for my work, but I would love to get a blender or food processor a long way down the track.

    • I’d been yearning for both these appliances for so long, especially since I became a little more involved with cooking and baking. These appliances really open the flood gates in regards to the types of recipes I can attempt now. I’m really excited 🙂

  13. 3 Awards – amazing!…may 2014 bring you even more! I too only started blogging this year, I didn’t realise how much fun it would be and how kind people are in the blogosphere- it’s been a perfect way to put our eating skills to use!

    • That’s what I love about blogging – getting in touch with people that are as nuts about food as you are 🙂 Thank you and may the year ahead hold some special foodie adventures for you…

  14. Congratulations on these lovely awards! I hope the year blesses you with continued reward in the joy of cooking, blogging and more!

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

