thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Steel Bar and Grill Sydney – Review

December is that time of year when the corporates get into the Christmas spirit and take their clients out for Christmas lunches/dinner. One of the corporates I deal with very closely took my team out to lunch at the Steel Bar and Grill in the CBD of Sydney. As always, I did a little research on the place and discovered that the owner and one of head chefs there is none other than Damian Heads, who I watch ALL the time on ‘Ready Steady Cook’ on Channel 10. This little tid-bit of information excited me as it represented another opportunity to possibly get some celebrity chef photos (unfortunately Luke Nguyen wasn’t at Red Lantern), not that I’m the stalky-stalky type or anything… Unfortunately, on this particular occasion, Damian was not working in the kitchen. Boo hoo 😦 The restaurant itself is a really funky mix of steel (maybe this has something to do with the name?), wood and glass. Towards the middle of the restaurant is a booth/pod-like seating area, which can seat about six people per ‘booth’ with tables and chairs for smaller/bigger groups. There’s also outdoor areas to have a sneaky drink and nibbles before dinner, or if you don’t feel like dining outdoors. Because there were six people in my party, we were seated in one of the booths. The kitchen is visible towards the back of the restaurant and you’re able to see your meal being prepared, which I think is very cool! I love being able to see the hustle and bustle of a professional kitchen. Next to the kitchen is a very impressive bar which you have access to via the outdoor area for drinks and nibbles. So, what about the food? Just before I get to the food, I must mention that the service was pretty good. We had a designated waiter, who was Italian and rather attractive (not sure if this had influenced my opinion of the service!). He was very attentive, making sure our glasses were topped up and ensuring we were satisfied with our food, and even providing us with some lovely wine recommendations. Getting back to the food…we decided to order three entrees to share; crisp zucchini flowers, chicken liver pate and goats cheese parcels. Each entree was as delicious as the next. The zucchini flowers were very crisp and the filling incredibly tasty. The pate was silky smooth and very morish, but my favourite were the goats cheese parcels that were complemented beautifully by the accompanied beetroot relish. This was definitely a good start, and I was ready to take on the main meal. Out of the six of us, we ordered four different mains. A few of us, including myself, ordered the grilled Tasmanian Salmon, which came with a fresh and zingy fennel and asparagus salad. The other people in my group ordered the veal cutlet, baby Snapper fillet and the Chef’s special, which looked like a chicken roulade (sorry, I was so enamoured by my dish I can’t remember what the Chef’s special was). All the dishes were amazing! I was feeling very content after finishing my main and I was debating whether or not I could eat a dessert. My companions were thinking the same thing, so we ended up ordering a dessert to share. Enter the chocolate delice. OH. MY. GOODNESS. The chocolate delice is a combination of three kinds of chocolately goodness; ganache, mousse, and what seemed like a cakey base. It was served with vanilla cream, toffee hazlenuts and sour cherries. I really should’ve ordered one to have all to myself….

Main dining areaKitchenBarGoats Cheese Parcels Chicken Liver Pate Crispy Zucchini FlowersChicken Chefs Special Baby Snapper Fillet Grilled Atlantic Salmon Veal CutletChocolate Delice What’s the score?
Food – 4/5
Ambience – 3.5/5
Service – 4/5
Value – 3/5
Total – 3.6/5

Would I go back? Absolutely – especially if it was for a special occasion or celebration. This has got to be one of my favourite dining experiences with a Sydney restaurant that serves meat and seafood. Also, because it is located pretty much smack bang in the middle of the CBD, it is in walking distance from The Rocks and Cockle Bay, so it’s very accessible if you are staying within the CBD.

Steel Bar & Grill
Ground Floor
2/60 Carrington Street
Sydney NSW 2000
Ph: 02 9299 9998

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Steel Bar and Grill Sydney – Review

  1. Snore.

  2. That food looks amazing. Get in my mouth! Was slightly concerned at one point when it mentioned the bar was outside, I thought ‘What!? What kind of place IS this where you have to go and freeze your nads off for a drink?’.

    Queue the ‘oooooh’ moment.

    Sydney, Katy. It’s in Australia. It’s hot there.

    *Shakes head apologetically*

  3. Hey cookingchook came to leave you this link I told you about https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x4rgoeknja1z1r9/Tkgz5goYrL . regards to your comment on my blog Look What the Chinese Invented. I put your idea on my Tips in the Kitchen page and it has a link back to your blog.

    I got hungry on the way down here to leave a Reply. The photos and post is great. And forget what Jess up there had to say. Your post is not boring. She only started to Snore (or fall asleep) because her mind can’t consume great info from a blog like yours. 🙂

    See ya around the kitchen maybe.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  4. Now I am getting hungry scrolling my way back up the page. Great review!! 🙂

  5. Wow everything looked amazing!!! I’m very jealous 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

