thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Post Christmas Toblerone Cheesecake

Massive TobleroneNow that Christmas and New Years are behind me, it’s time to actually take a closer look at the gifts my partner and I have accumulated. My partner received some foodie presents from his work colleagues, which included a 400g bar of Toblerone. I will admit that I am very partial to Toblerone (or any chocolate really), and we could’ve eaten it au naturel but the Adelaide weather has not been too kind to anything temperature sensitive (including me). So, when I opened the packaging, the chocolate was in a very poor, squishy state. What do you do with squishy Toblerone? Make a cheesecake of course! I love making cheesecakes (the no-bake kind), because all you need to do is whip it up, chuck it in a cake tin and whack it into the fridge. And with the Adelaide heat being rather unbearable (it was 45°C the other day!!!), the last thing I wanted to do was crank up the oven and bake. I followed a recipe that I had previously used to make a Bailey’s and Chocolate cheesecake, and just replaced the Bailey’s with melted Toblerone. I found the original recipe in one of my Delicious magazines. This cheesecake is supposed to serve 10-12 people. I think it serves 8-10 but then again, I like big slices.

Post Christmas Toblerone Cheesecake
200g plain chocolate biscuits (I used Arnott’s Chocolate Ripple biscuits)
80g unsalted butter
50g dark cooking chocolate
2 titanium-strength gelatine leaves
300ml thickened cream
750g cream cheese, at room temperature
½ cup (80g) icing sugar, sifted
350g Toblerone

Grease and line the base of a 24cm springform cake pan. Place biscuits into a food processor and process the biscuits to a fine crumb.  Or, if you don’t have a food processor to whiz the biscuits, you can put the biscuits into a zip lock bag and bash them using a rolling pin, or my implement of choice, a meat mallet.

Biscuits in a bag Bashed biscuits in a bag

Place the butter and the dark chocolate into a heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water, ensuring that the base of the bowl doesn’t touch the water, and stir until melted. Remove from heat and stir in to the biscuit crumbs. Press the biscuit mixture into the base of the cake tin and chuck it in the fridge to chill while you prepare the filling.

Butter and chocolateBase mixture Biscuit base in cake tin

Soak the gelatine leaves in cold water for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, place 100ml of the cream in a small saucepan and bring to just below boiling point over medium-high heat. Remove the cream from heat. Squeeze as much of the water as you can from the gelatine, then stir the gelatine into the hot cream until it all dissolves. Set aside to cool slightly.

Stir gelatine into hot cream

Break the Toblerone into pieces and place into a heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water, once again, ensuring that the base of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Stir until the Toblerone has completely melted.

Melt Toblerone

In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese with an electric mixer until smooth. In another bowl, beat the remaining 200ml of cream with the icing sugar until soft peaks form. Add the cream to the cream cheese and beat until combined and smooth. Add the melted Toblerone and cooled cream mixture and stir to combine.

Beat cream cheese until smooth Whip cream to soft peaksCombine cream and cream cheeseAdd Toblerone and hot cream mixture

Spread the cheesecake mixture on top of the chilled biscuit base. Chill for at least 6 hours or overnight to set. Before serving, top with chocolate shavings.

Smooth cream cheese mixture over baseToberlone cheesecake

Note: I have amended the original recipe slightly by replacing the Bailey’s with Toblerone and using chocolate biscuits for the base instead of Hobnob or digestive biscuits. The closest recipe I could find online to replicate the recipe I found in the Australian Delicious magazine is here. To make it easier to release the cheesecake from the cake tin, run a knife that has been heated with warm water around the edge of the cheesecake before popping it out of the tin.

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “Post Christmas Toblerone Cheesecake

  1. OMG Looks delicious. Yay for Christmas chocolate. I really feel for you and the awful dry heat you’re getting at the moment.

  2. Chef Randall on said:

    Looks delicious. I made an Eggnog Cheesecake this morning. Your with dry heat and we are with snow on the ground and -2 tonight.

    Enjoy your Toblerone Cheesecake. Thanks for sharing.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  3. i love recipes that you can just whack into the fridge… looks lovely.

  4. you are funny with “chucking” in a cake tin and “whacking” in the frig

    Luscious cheesecake. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  5. Looks sooo good! And it doesn’t involve an oven, which is great because I don’t have one! Will have to give it a try.

    • Perfect recipe for you then! It’s hard when you don’t have an oven. When I lived with my folks, Mum broke the oven so I was without one for TWO YEARS! Made things a little difficult considering how much I love to bake. The problem solved itself when I moved out of home and into a place with a functioning oven 🙂

      • I understand your oven-less distress! I didn’t have one for 4 years at uni, then 1 year in Japan, and now another year at uni. ARGH. So yes, thanks for the recipe 🙂

  6. This looks scrumptious! I feel like I’m going to be eating like it’s Christmas until next Christmas with all these leftovers! Can’t complain.

  7. petit4chocolatier on said:

    Wow, this looks divine. Yes to Toblerone chocolate!!

  8. Yummm…. oh, I have Lindt balls I got for my birthday… I wonder how it would go with that AND Baileys? 😀

  9. I love cheesecake and I love chocolate and I love toblerone! This is a perfect synthesis…if only I wasn’t diabetic!

  10. Belinda Lombard on said:

    I have a reserve Toblerone hidden, so will be making this delicious mouthwatering treat soon. Looks delicious.

  11. Looks delicious, great idea ! Wish we had some sun and heat, it’s cold and snowy in London

    • Thank you! I love the heat of an Aussie summer, but Adelaide typically has extended periods of extreme heat. Normally a couple of weeks of temps over 35 degrees every single day. So it’s good, but then it can get a little boring…

  12. loved the idea ! gonna try it soon ! thanks

  13. Pingback: Happy 1st birthday Cooking Chook! | thecookingchook

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

