thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The Cooking Chook has finally schemed a way out

Excerpt from the ‘About thecookingchook’ page….

A thirty-something science nerd who is stuck in the financial services industry but is scheming a way out.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I am delighted to inform you all that I have finally schemed a way out! Actually, that isn’t quite true. My way out is in a few weeks, but it’s a way out nonetheless. What is my escape, you ask? For those playing at home that haven’t been on The Cooking Chook train for long, I would like to tell you about a little dream I have. My dream is to become a Doctor. My earliest memory of wanting to become a Doctor involved me and a couple of broken bones at around the age of 5 (could be earlier or later, my memory is a bit fuzzy). I remembered how wonderful my Doctor was with ‘fixing’ me and making me feel better when I was in quite a distressed and painful state. From that point onwards, I wanted to be just like him. The journey to become like him hasn’t been a straight line with a few twists, turns and stops along the way. It certainly hasn’t been an ideal journey. Even looking back to August last year when I found out I missed out on an interview with the medical school I was applying to, I was devastated but I vowed never to give up on my dream. Then, a week ago, I was given wonderful news:

The Cooking Chook: you have been offered a place in the Bachelor of Medical Science at Some South Australian University…..

To rehash a previous post about having a Plan B, I mentioned considering three options, one of them involved me applying for a different course, quit my job to study full-time and concentrate on preparing for the next medical school entrance exam (GAMSAT). That’s where the Bachelor of Medical Science comes into play. This course will not only be a stepping stone to realising my dream, but also be an opportunity for me to return to my nerdy roots and immerse myself in the sciences again. Hopefully now, my journey to becoming a Doctor will be a straight line. So, I guess in a few weeks I will need to revise my bio…. AWESOME!

My favourite tshirt

Single Post Navigation

34 thoughts on “The Cooking Chook has finally schemed a way out

  1. So excited for you Cooking Chook. My gorgeous husband has just started medicine this year – a lifelong dream for him. Did the GAMSAT last year and then 6 months of e-healthcare and is loving every moment of his med studies. Go for it!

  2. hannah on said:

    babe this is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! so so pleased for you!!!!!!!! dr chook, here we come!!!!!! xoxoxoxox

  3. Oh, great! Good on you~ I bet you are super excited!

  4. tashly323 on said:

    Well done 🙂

  5. rainman0409 on said:

    Man, you are about to start an interesting journey. I can’t do it justice in a wordpress comment, but no matter what happens- don’t lose your sense of enquiry during the course 🙂 I always worry BMedSci is taught in such an impersonal way because of the huge student numbers, and so students just churn through it without care. Don’t be that person! GOOD LUCK 😀

    • I know what you’re saying re: the course, but I think it will be different for me as I’m a little bit older and (hopefully) wiser so I’m not going to treat this as just another Undergrad course. Thank you for your well wishes. I hope to end up in the same situation as you soon….

  6. It’s so important to follow our dreams – well done for pursuing yours. Congratulations!

  7. This is so exciting! Good luck!

  8. Congratulations. I used to teach the post-graduate students from Flinders as part of the Northern Territory Clinical School. We need more medical practitioner food bloggers too lol 🙂

  9. Congratulations! What exciting news. All the best!

  10. Congratulations and I wish you the best of luck. You sure deserve it! 🙂

  11. Very exciting, and congratulations! 🙂

  12. Awesome indeed! I’ll be watching for updates …

  13. Congrats. I am a Nurse Practitioner – mid-level practitioner. I recognize the long haul that medical school entails Good Luck

  14. Buongiorno

    There is an aware just for you! 🙂

    http://dishingitoutwithclarissa.com/2013/02/07/1775/

    Best Wishes & Warmest Regards

    ~ Clarissa

  15. Congrats! Or “Grattis!” as we’d say in Swedish. Good luck in returning to your studies!

  16. All the best! Follow your dreams.

  17. Pingback: The Cooking Chook ditches the corporate life | thecookingchook

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

