thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The KitchenAid Christening – Basil Pesto with Green Eggs and Ham

December 2012 was a pretty memorable month for me. Thanks to my partner, his family and Santa, I was given a KitchenAid food processor and stand mixer for my birthday/Christmas present. Two rather incredible kitchen appliances; I couldn’t ask for better gifts! So, after the initial excitement subsided, I started thinking about what I was going to make using my new toys. It just so happened that a recipe came fluttering into my inbox from the amazing Cath Chen of the Confessions of a Glutton blog fame – Basil Pesto! I have never made pesto before but I absolutely love eating it, and the only reason why I had not made it before was because I didn’t have a food processor…until now. Basil pesto is so easy to make, and only consists of a few ingredients so it’s a great recipe for when you are running low on time. You just whiz all the ingredients together and stir it through cooked pasta – Easy peasy! So, where do the green eggs and ham fit into this post? Well, I had some pesto left over and was researching on what other dishes I could use it in. I found a really easy breakfasty/brunchy recipe in the January issue of Australian Good Taste magazine that required pesto, so I thought I’d give it a shot. The basil pesto recipe makes about one cup, and the green eggs and ham recipe serves four people.

Confessions of a Glutton Basil Pesto
2 cups (100g) basil leaves
¼ cup (40g) toasted pine nuts
¼ cup (25g) pecorino cheese, grated
1 tsp crushed garlic
60 ml olive oil

Green Eggs and Ham
125g sliced ham, finely chopped
½ cup (40g) cheddar, coarsely grated
4 round multigrain bread rolls
4 eggs, at room temperature
1 tbs basil pesto

Preheat oven to 180°C (fan forced).

Line a large baking tray with baking paper. Spread the pine nuts over the baking tray and bake in the oven for about 5 minutes or until toasted. Keep an eye on the nuts to ensure they don’t go too brown. Remove from oven and set aside for 10 minutes to cool. Pick out any nuts that are too dark. Don’t turn the oven off, as you will need it for the green eggs and ham.

Toast the pine nuts

Place the pine nuts, basil, garlic and pecorino into the bowl of a food processor and process until finely chopped. With the motor running, gradually add the oil in a thin steady stream until well combined. Season to taste with a salt and pepper and thin with a little water if you prefer. Set aside.

Add all ingredients except oil into processorBlitz and add oil gradually

Combine the ham and cheddar in a small bowl. Cut the top third of each bread roll and put aside. Pull out the centre of the roll, leaving a 1.5cm thick shell. Place the rolls on a lined baking tray (I re-used the tray and baking paper I toasted the pine nuts on). Divide the ham and cheese mixture between the rolls. Crack one egg into each roll.

Ham and cheese mixture Rolls ready to goAdd egg

Bake the rolls, placing the tops that you set aside earlier on top in the last 10 minutes of cooking, for 18-20 minutes or until the eggs are just set. This is where the eggs being at room temperature is important. If your eggs are cold, the cooking time will be a lot longer, and you may end up over toasting the rolls. Add the pesto equally among the rolls just before serving. My partner loved the pesto so much that he spread a little extra on the toasted tops!

Drizzle pesto over top

Note: I have amended the original recipes slightly, so if you would like to see the original basil pesto recipe, click here. The original recipe for the green ham and eggs is on page 60 in the January issue of Australian Good Taste magazine. If you haven’t had the chance to check out Cath’s blog, I highly recommend that you do. It has amazing recipes on there, and I should know because I’ve tried a few of them….

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “The KitchenAid Christening – Basil Pesto with Green Eggs and Ham

  1. Yay for the KitchenAid and that looks YUM

  2. I love love love my kitchenaid. I also got mi for Christmas, about seven years ago. I always wanted to make fresh pasta but had trouble with rolling it out . with the ka pasta rollers and the dough hook I can now make it in no time. Best money ever spent, I use it every single week. Enjoy.

    • I’m totally in love too! I can’t wait to get some of the other attachments! I think the pasta rollers will be my next purchase 🙂

      • If you like pasta then I would highly recommend it. Ten minutes to make it, rest it for half an hour, then fifteen minutes to roll it all out. You can’t beat that. I also have the mincer and sausage attachments which is great.

  3. Enjoy your new toys. They’re the bomb!

  4. Hurray for the KitchenAid! I bet you’ll get a lot of mileage out of that.
    Homemade pesto is the best. I like to deepen the flavor by using a combination of pecorino and parmigiano.

  5. Ah! No wonder you liked my KitchenAid mixer blog! I can’t wait to join in the ranks of other owners! That baby can’t ship fast enough!

    And your recipe, AMAZING!

  6. Home made pesto is one of those foods made in heaven… there is no other way to describe it. I have no idea what the pasta rollers for the KA are like, but definitely make your own pasta, then serve it with a sauce of your homemade pesto, garlic and chilli sauteed in olive oil- sprinkle with freshly ground parmesan and voila, another dish made in heaven! 🙂

  7. Congrats on your new appliance yum

  8. I love my KA stand mixer but I decided to get a Cuisinart processor because that’s what was available at Costco. And I’ve brought two of them back to the store. They are very poorly made…imagine!
    Soooo, you do recommend your KA processor? I should put it on my ‘kitchen want’ list?

    • That’s a real shame about the Cuisinart processor. I thought that they were on par with KitchenAid? I’ve used my processor on many occasions since I got it, and I absolutely love it! I would highly recommend it.

  9. Mel Drago on said:

    Delicious

  10. Chef Randall on said:

    What a great recipe to Christen your Kitchen Aid with. Green Eggs and Ham..brings back childhood memories. Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    • I discovered Cath’s pesto recipe a little while before I was given my food processor, because at the time I was saving up to buy one. As soon as I got my processor for my birthday/Christmas, I just had to use to the pesto recipe to test out my new toy! I really can’t believe something so tasty is so easy to make 🙂

      • Chef Randall on said:

        Happy Kitchen Aiding!! Aren’t new toys exciting?? Especially for the kitchen. Will they are for me since I am the cook around here. 🙂

  11. petit4chocolatier on said:

    This looks amazing! Loving the Kitchen Aid!

  12. Jealous! Still to receive a Kitchen Aid from a benevolent donor, though I shall continue to patiently wait! =P I love pesto, what a great way to christen your new red-hot food processor! Looks great, I can just imagine how fragrant that basil would be =)

    • The pesto was definitely very fragrant! I think I was lucky enough to be given my KA babies because my partner and his family wanted me to stop whinging about all the recipes I couldn’t try out because I didn’t have the right equipment. Persistence is the key 😉

  13. this looks so delish!!

  14. Fabulous idea. Looks delicious and great for company! You’ll be amazed at all you can do with your KitchenAid, it’ll be a friend for life! I’m actually contemplating a Cuisinart mini for small jobs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

