thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

You can’t have WHAT in your chocolate cake?

I love baking. The entire process of baking is such a stress relief for me; from measuring out the ingredients right up to the end where I get to eat what I’ve made. Baking makes me happy. It makes me so happy that I love to share that happiness with those close to me by giving them bits and pieces of my creations. So, you can imagine my dismay when one of the girls from my study group, Monica, had to refuse my offering of baked goods because she is gluten intolerant. Her refusal was like being slapped in the face! I felt terrible that I would bring along my baked goods to study group, and she couldn’t have any. I needed to remedy this situation. You shall not go without cake Monica! This recipe is a cut-down version of a recipe I found on the Taste.com.au site. I halved all the quantities to make a smaller cake that serves 6 slices.

Monica’s special chocolate cake
½ teaspoon instant espresso powder
30ml boiling water
100g butter, chopped
90g dark chocolate, chopped
1 tbs cocoa powder, sifted
2 eggs, separated
½ cup caster sugar
1 cup almond meal
Cocoa powder, for dusting

Preheat oven to 160°C (fan forced). Grease a 19cm round (base) spring-form cake pan. Line the pan base with baking paper.

Place espresso powder and boiling water in a small glass. Stir to dissolve. Place butter, chocolate, cocoa powder and dissolved espresso powder in a medium saucepan over low heat. Stir constantly over heat, for 2 to 3 minutes or until melted and combined. Remove from heat. Transfer to a bowl to cool slightly.

Chocolate stuff butter and espressoMelted choclatey goodness

Use an electric mixer to beat egg yolks and sugar for 5 minutes or until thick. Set aside. Use an electric mixer to beat egg whites until soft peaks form.

Sugar and egg yolks Beat egg whites until soft peaks form

Add chocolate mixture and almond meal to egg yolk mixture. Stir to combine. Using a metal spoon, gently fold half the egg whites into chocolate mixture. Repeat with remaining egg whites.

Add almond meal and chocolate mixture to egg mixture Combine ingredients Add egg whites to cake mix Fold egg whites into cake mix

Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out reasonably clean. You may get some crumbly bits sticking to the skewer, but don’t be too concerned about that. Cool cake completely in pan before removing it from the pan. Dust with cocoa.

Pour cake mix into pan Yummy chocolate cake

Note: As I mentioned earlier, I did halve the quantities of the original recipe. If you would like to see the original recipe, click here. This cake is absolutely gorgeous served with double cream….and don’t forget a nice cuppa to go with the cake either.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “You can’t have WHAT in your chocolate cake?

  1. Flourless chocolate cakes! they rock! I read somewhere they’re passé, some 80s hit or whatever. OK, maybe we’re now coming of age and catching up, but if something tastes this good, it’s a classic, it has no timeline!

    • Flourless cakes being passe? Really? I would’ve thought that they are a bit trendy because of the greater emphasis on conditions like coeliac disease. Regardless, I agree with you, if it tastes good, just eat it!

  2. Very thoughtful of you. Lucky Monica. Wish I was in your study group!

    • Haha! It just didn’t seem far for the rest of the group to be gutsing out on baked goods, and Monica not to have any. The cake was easy enough to make, plus I’ll take any opportunity to eat chocolate cake!

  3. Thank you for this gorgeous recipe, and the big bonus, no gluten!

    • You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy the cake 🙂

      • We made your chocolate cake today, my nearly 7 yr old grand daughter and I. Not only is she intolerant of wheat, but also almonds, so we substituted walnuts, then we baked them cup cake size. Other than processing the walnuts, we made the entire recipe without machinery, a big effort for a little person and her Nana! The cake is amazingly beautiful, rich yes, but so, so delicious. Thank you!

      • That’s fantastic Sandra, and thank you for stopping by and letting me know how you went with the cake. Now I know I can substitute the almond meal with another nut and it still works well!

  4. Hey Cookingchook delectable recipe and images.

    I left suddenly and I am sorry. But I have a new website if you wish to follow. Here is the link were to go and leave your e-mail http://www.savorthefood.com/home . The blog on my site is called “Fun with Food.”

    As always I appreciated your visits and comments.
    Thanks for your time and consideration.

    Chef Randall

  5. I just made a gluten free orange cake with sugar free chocolate ganache…. No one batted an eyelash!!!
    The best part is there’s half a cake leftover…

  6. Monica on said:

    GEEE WIZZLE!!! I’m Famous! And so is that FABulous Chocolate cake!

  7. Can’t wait to try this!

  8. Love chocolate cake any day. Yours look delicious! I just want to know more about expresso powder. Is it baking powder?

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

