thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Sometimes I like to take it SLOOOOOOW

So, Australia is now in the throes of autumn (not that it feels like it in Adelaide; daily temps are still in the mid to high 20’s) and I love this time of year because it means I can start cooking some comfort food! To me, comfort food is all about food that has been cooked slowly, over a few hours and makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside. I’m talking about hearty soups, casseroles, roasts, bakes, just to name a few of the things I love to cook. I’ve been itching for WEEKS to be able to make something that was season appropriate. As soon as the Bureau of Meteorology forecasted cooler weather (I’d been cyber stalking the site for a few weeks) I immediately thought of osso bucco. There’s something about meat cooked on the bone for an extended period of time that gets me a little like this. Anyway, I was so excited about making the osso bucco that I just had to share this recipe with everyone. You could easily serve four people, or two people and have some amazing leftovers the next day.

Taking it Slow Osso Bucco
6-8 veal osso bucco (about 2kg)
½ cup (75g) plain flour
2 tbs olive oil
1 mini bottle of white wine (I used a 187ml bottle of Chardonnay)
1 small carrot, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 celery stalk, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
2 tsp dried oregano
2 x 400g tin chopped tomatoes
1½ cups beef stock

Dust the veal with flour. Heat oil in a flame-proof casserole dish or large saucepan/stock pot on medium-high. Cook the veal in batches for 2-3 minutes on each side until browned. Remove from pan and set aside.

Dust veal with flour

In the same pan, cook the wine, carrot, onion, celery, garlic and oregano. Bring to the boil to cook off the wine.

Cook veggies wine and oregano

Reduce heat to medium and add the veal, tomatoes and stock. Bring to the boil again. Turn the heat down, cover and simmer for 1½-2 hours, until the veal is tender.

Add veal tomatoes and stock Simmer for at least 1.5 hoursServe with veggies and some carbs

Note: I have amended the original recipe, so if you would to see the original recipe, click here. I served the veal osso bucco with some potato mash and broccolini; however, you could replace the mash with steamed rice or pasta.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Sometimes I like to take it SLOOOOOOW

  1. It is definitely autumn in Melbourne. Great minds think alike, I have lamb shanks in the oven cooking slowly right now! Like you I love meat on the bone cooked long and slow.

  2. That looks so delicious!

  3. Slow meat is always good 🙂

  4. Looks yummy. I never realized that Osso bucco was made with veal. I’m sure it would taste good with beef?

  5. On this side of the globe the seasons are in reverse, but I’d still like to have this ossobuco. In Italy a mixture of garlic, lemon zest and parsley is served as a garnish on top, which is called gremolata. It adds a nice fresh touch, although personally I use only very little of the raw garlic.

    • I totally agree on both accounts. I’ve been told that the more traditional osso bucco dish is served with gremolata, and the more modern version has tomatoes in it and isn’t served with gremolata. I like both versions and it’s nice to mix it up every now and again and switch between the two.

  6. It’s starting to get cooler here in Auckland too. I’ve only made Osso Buco once but I’d like to try roasting marrow one day this winter. It’s not for everyone though, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

