thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The end of summer means the end of summer berries….Or does it?

One of the things I love about summer is the abundance of summer berries, because they taste so darn good in desserts and baked goods. So, when the weather starts cooling down and a 250g punnet of blueberries cost $9 (say what?), I feel a little sad. This is a sign that summer is well and truly over…..or is it? One tip that I’ve picked up on my foodie adventures is using frozen berries instead of fresh ones. Frozen berries are great, because not only can I continue to make my favourite treats at any time of the year, they last a lot longer (unlike fresh fruit) and I can buy a 500g box for less than $5! Perfect for my Uni bum budget! My favourite flavour combination has to be strawberries or raspberries with chocolate, so when I saw this recipe for a raspberry, chocolate and almond tea cake in the latest issue of Delicious, I just had to make it. The cake was incredibly moist and I just adored the taste of toasted almonds. The cake is best eaten slightly warm when the chocolate is a little oozy, with a generous lashing of double cream…..divine!

Any time raspberry, chocolate & almond tea cake
150g softened unsalted butter, chopped
2/3 cup (150g) caster sugar
2 eggs
½ tsp almond extract
50ml milk
1 cup (150g) self-raising flour, sifted
150g almond meal
¾ cup (135g) dark chocolate chips
150g frozen raspberries
1/3 cup (25g) flaked almonds
Icing sugar, to dust

Preheat oven to 180°C (fan forced). Grease and line the base and sides of a 20cm springform cake pan.

Beat the butter and caster sugar until thick and pale. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the almond extract and milk, then beat to combine.

Cream butter and sugar Add eggs one at a time Add milk and almond extract

Fold in the flour and almond meal, then fold in the chocolate chips and raspberries. Don’t be too concerned if the cake batter looks a little dry. Spoon into the pan, then sprinkle over the flaked almonds.

Fold in flour Add raspberries and chocolate Fold in raspberries and chocolateSpoon batter into pan and sprinkle almonds on top

Bake for 50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Cool cake in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely. Dust with icing sugar and serve with double cream.

Ready to serve with cream

Note: I haven’t made any amendments to the original recipe. The recipe is featured on page 59 of the latest issue of Delicious.

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “The end of summer means the end of summer berries….Or does it?

  1. I always have a couple of boxes of frozen berries in the freezer. For smoothies, my daughter’s post swimming porridge fix and my all important baking. I love fresh berries but frozen are my lifeline. Great tea cake by the way.

    • Thank you! Now that I’ve discovered how useful frozen berries are, I always have a couple of boxes in the freezer too. And I just love some mixed berries and a bit of honey with my porridge for brekkie, especially now the weather is a little cooler.

  2. Looks YUMMY!! I might have to try this one some time. I always keep frozen berries too, great for a bit of a sugar hit on oats in winter with some cinnamon, mmmm.

    • It’s one of the best cakes I’ve ever taste, but then again, you can’t beat the flavour combination of berries and dark chocolate! This recipe is definitely part of my ‘favourite’ list!

  3. Almonds berries and chocolate, mmm

  4. Wow, what a lovely bake! Hmmmmm, I can tell it’s real yummy! =)

  5. Bookmarked for my next bake for sure!

  6. I saw $9 blueberries too and $7 for strawberries. My reaction wasn’t as calm as yours I must say!

    That’s such a pretty cake! Choc chip and almond – my two favourite things in a cake. Will have to attempt this soon!

    • This is the censored version, so you should’ve seen me when I was shopping for ingredients. I understand that berries are out of season now, but I just can’t get over how expensive it is!

  7. I never seem to buy frozen berries, so I guess it makes fresh summer berries even more special. $9 for blueberries. I believe that’s just plain robbery!

  8. Pingback: I really miss berries…. | thecookingchook

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

