thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

‘Snickers’ satisfaction? Damn straight it is!

I really wanted to share another slow cooking recipe this week, because I’m utterly obsessed with that type of cooking now the weather has turned. Adelaide went from a week of mid to high 20’s to mid to high teens in a matter of a day. I had everything all planned out and ready to go, until I received this month’s issue of Delicious magazine. I’m doing the quick flick through, ‘oooooooh’ing and ‘aaaahhhhhh’ing over the wonderful recipes, when a particular recipe stops me dead in the tracks. My jaw drops open and I gasp in amazement. I see the words ‘Snickers brownie’ and everything else disappears into a haze. Stuff the slow cooking, I need to make these brownies! These brownies don’t contain proper Snickers. I didn’t cut up any Snickers bars and chuck them into the brownie batter. Instead, these brownies are inspired by Snickers; more of a deconstructed version. Nonetheless, I think this recipe is pretty cool and the results were very satisfying indeed. Well worth putting aside the slow cooking recipe! This recipe makes about 18 brownie squares.

‘Snickers’ satisfaction brownies
1½ cups (225g) plain flour
¾ tsp baking powder
½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
2/3 cup (200g) smooth peanut butter
125g unsalted butter, softened and chopped
1 cup (220g) caster sugar
1 firmly packed cup (220g) brown sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
250g dark chocolate chips
50g vanilla marshmallows, halved then quartered
200g salted peanuts, roughly chopped

Caramel topping
200g caster sugar
200ml double cream (thickened)
50g unsalted butter, chopped

Preheat oven to 180°C (fan forced). Line a 22cm x 32cm x 5cm-deep non-stick baking pan with baking paper.

Sift the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and ½ tsp salt into a bowl. In a separate bowl, beat the peanut butter, butter and sugars with an electric beater on medium speed (I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer on setting 3) for 1-2 minutes until smooth.

Beat peanut butter, butter and sugars

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one, then beat in the vanilla extract.

Add eggs one at a time, beating after each one

Reduce speed to low (setting 1 on the KitchenAid stand mixer), then beat in the flour mixture until just combined. Add in the chocolate chips, marshmallows and three-quarters of the peanuts, and fold in until just combined.

Beat in flour mixture Fold in choc chips, marshmallow and peanuts

Spread the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 40-45 minutes until golden, and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Leave the brownies to cool in the pan until it cools down to room temperature, then chuck the pan in the fridge for 1-2 hours to firm up.

Spread batter in panBake until golden

To make the caramel topping, place the sugar, 1 tsp salt and 200ml of water into a saucepan over low heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves. Increase the heat to medium-high and bring to the boil, swirling the pan occasionally. Use a wet pastry brush to brush down the sides of the pan if you see any sugar crystals forming. Cook for 6 minutes, or until you get a light golden caramel. Remove from heat and gradually pour in the cream, whilst stirring to combine. Add the butter and stir until smooth, then leave to cool slightly.

Dissolve sugar Cook sugar syrup until golden caramel colour Add cream and butter

Pour the caramel over the brownies and spread out to the edges. Sprinkle the top with the remaining one-quarter of the nuts and allow to set for 1 hour. Cut into squares to serve.

Pour caramel over brownie and add peanuts Slice into squares to serve

Note: I’ve only made slight adjustments to the original recipe to make the recipe. For example, I used a little more peanut butter than the original recipe because a small jar was 200g and it would’ve been ridiculous to leave a teaspoon of peanut butter left in the jar. I cut up larger marshmallows rather than using mini marshmallows, because I had the large ones already in my pantry, and it seemed silly to but a 250g packet of mini marshmallows when all I needed was 50g. Otherwise, I followed the original recipe as printed. If you would like access to the original recipe, it is in this month’s (June) issue of Delicious magazine. It’s a fantastic magazine with wonderful recipes. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll see that I make plenty of dishes from this magazine. It should also be noted, that this is my genuine opinion about the magazine and I am in no way affiliated with the magazine or its publishers.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “‘Snickers’ satisfaction? Damn straight it is!

  1. Cathy Laws on said:

    This sounds sooo good, a must try in the upcoming weeks. i love snickers too lol.

  2. Oh my god. I havnt even had breakfast yet this morning and am already wanting to hunt down these ingredients. Sounds delicious

  3. This is now in my MUST bake list, thank you

  4. Now that’s what I call gooey heaven! Yum!

  5. Oh this looks very nice! I bet everyone enjoyed this. It will have to go on the list of things to make. I guess I will have to buy a larger pair of leggings 😉

  6. Reblogged this on Om Nom Lagos and commented:
    Oh my goodness. Can you think of anything more yummy than a snickers brownie? I am sooooo tempted to try this, honestly. The only issue is there are people with peanut allergies in my house, so peanuts are completely banned. Maybe I can make this at a friend’s house instead…

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

