thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The Cooking Chook does Belgian chocolate truffle making

How does a chocolate lover test the strength of their will? Take a chocolate making class! My cousin messaged me a couple of weeks ago asking me if I wanted to take a Belgian chocolate truffle making class with her at the Adelaide School of Chocolate because there was a 2 for 1 deal going for the month of June (it’s normally $99 per person). I’ve never really worked with chocolate before, apart from making the odd ganache for a cake, so I thought this would be a good a time as ever to have a crack. The size for this particular class was reasonably small; there were 7 people (including me – I think the maximum is 8) in the class and we were divided between two tables. To me, a really good cooking class means that it is hands on. I learn new things a lot faster when I’m actually doing things, and this class did not disappoint! From tempering the chocolate, to hand rolling the truffles, the group was guided through what needed to be done and we did everything ourselves. It was A LOT of fun, a bit of mess and Anna (our teacher for the night) did a wonderful job teaching the group how to make truffles. The chocolate used was no ordinary chocolate, but Belgian chocolate, and I couldn’t help sneaking a sample every now and again. Mmmmmm – chocolatey….

This was the chocolate we used on the night.

This was the chocolate we used on the night.

Making the ganache

Melting the chocolate Adding the corn syrup to the butter Mixing the butter into the chocolate Chocolate ganache

Tempering the chocolate

Tempering the chocolate Checking to see if chocolate is tempered

As part of the process, I introduced a method of quality control - the taste test.

As part of the process, I introduced a method of quality control – the taste test.

Rolling the truffles

Rolling the ganache The ganache filling ready to be chocolate coatedCoating the truffles

Hand rolling truffles in chocolate One coat down, one more to go

Anna, our wonderful teacher for the night.

Anna, our wonderful teacher for the night.

In the end, after 2 hours, I made 34 truffles and I didn’t even sample any! I was being very disciplined. Mind you, I did do A LOT of sampling during the class so I think that kind of tempered (excuse the pun) my desire to sample my wares. So, what did I think of the class? I really enjoyed it! The hands on approach, small class size and quality of teaching were great. I would definitely recommend this class.

The finished product! They don't look too bad, eh?

The finished product! They don’t look too bad, eh?

Adelaide Chocolate School
48 Melbourne Street
North Adelaide SA 5006
Ph: (08) 7120 2664
Email: adelaidechocolateschool@bigpond.com

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “The Cooking Chook does Belgian chocolate truffle making

  1. Looks like you’ve had a great time! I also use Callebaud chocolate, but I haven’t tried making my own stuffed chocolates yet. So little time, so much to cook…

    • Callebaud chocolate is devine! I know exactly what you mean about not having enough time…. If it wasn’t for my cousin suggesting we go do this class, I’m not sure if I would’ve done it. I’m glad I did though 🙂

  2. My idea of heaven!

  3. What a great idea – taking a cooking class ! And now your friends and family can enjoy lots of delicious chocolates – made with love!! And – what does “chook” mean? Thanks !!

    • It was a great idea! I’m glad I got a chance to spend a bit of time with my cousin too. Chook is an Aussie slang word for ‘chicken’. It’s also a term of endearment. My partner and a few of my girlfriends call me Chook 🙂

  4. Amazing! Which I could join a Belgian chocolate truffle making class too.

  5. And now I want chocolate even more … double grrr. I love that you have to do “quality control” throughout the day – as if the chocolate had changed.I support this idea whole-heartedly 😉

  6. mmmhhh, I love chocolate Truffles! They look so pretty and mouth watering!

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

