thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Say ‘I love you’ with a Banoffee Pie

It was my partner’s birthday a couple of days ago and I wanted to make him something special. He has a bit of a sweet tooth and is mad about bananas, so it’s not surprising that one of his favourite desserts is Banoffee Pie. But I didn’t just want to make him the ‘run-of-the-mill’ type Banoffee Pie (even though he would’ve been more than happy with that), I wanted to make something extra special; something that said ‘Happy Birthday’ and ‘I love you’.  For those who have never come across a Banoffee Pie before, it’s a dessert pie made with caramel (or toffee) from simmering condensed milk, with bananas and cream, all on a biscuity base. A quick search of my favourite recipe website, taste.com.au, resulted in me finding a recipe for a chocolate Banoffee Pie. This recipe is ridiculously easy, doesn’t require any baking and includes chocolate to make it a bit more special. So, happy birthday my love! I hope you love this Banoffee Pie as much as I love you (that means lots). This pie can serve 12 people.

‘I love you’ Chocolate Banoffee Pie
250g McVitie’s Digestive biscuits
125g butter, melted
300ml thickened cream
30g bar Cadbury Flake, crumbled
46g bar Cadbury Picnic, chopped
53g bar Snickers, chopped
380g can Nestle Caramel Top ‘n’ Fill
3 bananas, sliced

Chuck the biscuits into the bowl of a food processor and process until fine crumbs form. If you don’t have a food processor, put the biscuits into a zip lock bag and bash the biscuits until fine crumbs form. Add the butter and process until well combined. Scoop out the biscuit mixture into a 3-cm-deep, 23cm (base measurement) round fluted tart tin with a removable base. Press the biscuit mixture evenly over the base and sides of the tart tin. Whack the biscuit base in the fridge for 1 hour to chill.

Process biscuits Add butter and combine Press biscuit mixture into tart tin

Transfer the biscuit base to a serving plate. Pour cream into a bowl and use an electric beater to beat the cream until soft peaks form. Combine the Flake, Picnic and Snickers in another bowl.

Once chilled, transfer base to a plate Beat cream until soft peaks form

Spread the caramel over the biscuit base. Arrange the sliced banana, in a single layer, over the caramel. Top with the cream and chocolate mixture.

Spread caramel over base Layer sliced bananas Spread cream over banana layerSprinkle chocolate mixture over the top

Note: I took the lazy option and bought the caramel pre-made, however, you could easily make the caramel yourself by simmering a can of condensed milk for about 2-3 hours. You need to make sure that the can is immersed by water the entire cooking time. Then let the can cool down completely before opening it and spreading the caramel over the biscuit base. This recipe was so easy that I didn’t need to make any adjustments, but if you would like to see the original recipe, click here.

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “Say ‘I love you’ with a Banoffee Pie

  1. I laughed when you chucked the biscuits into food processor bowl and whacked the biscuit crust in the fridge for an hour. What a lovely looking crust. What is the difference between Cadbury flake and picnic chocolate bars?

  2. OMG… I love you 😀

  3. This. Is. AMAZING!
    I want to each the page.

  4. I had never even heard of Banoffee Pie until I watched a British ‘cookery’ while living in Malta. And your recipe looks even more amazing than that one!! The problem for me, living here in the States, is I don’t think I can find the same ingredients…. darn !

  5. This looks amazingly delicious. What a great combo. Thanks for posting!

  6. Love Banoffee Pie! Yours look absolutely delicious.

  7. @Cecile you can definitely make Banoffee Pie in the States. Instead of McVitie’s Digestive biscuits you can use graham crackers. As for the chocolate bars, aero would work for the Cadbury flake bar and just substitute another one for the Cadbury Picnic (oh Henry?). You have Snickers right?
    Then for the top n fill, use a can of condensed milk and follow the directions given.
    Also, you can use the equivalent amount of dulce de leche if you can find it. Usually in a Latin American grocery store.

    • Absolutely right Bernice. A friend of mine who is Texan told me that Graham Crackers are the closet substitute for the digestive biscuits. In regards to the chocolate bars, you could pretty much use any type of chocolate bar, or even just chocolate shavings/curls.

  8. YUM! I want chocolate now … grrr. Not had a banoffee in ages so I’m gonna have to try this one I think 🙂

  9. Mm banoffee pie, I love the combination of the ingredients! This looks delicious! Will try to make it!

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

