thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I really miss berries….

It’s starting to feel like winter in Adelaide. It’s cold, grey, rainy….rather miserable actually. And as much as I love this time of year because you can make a lot of great comfort food dishes, I can’t help but yearn for a bit of sunshine and some of the fruits and veggies that go along with summer. In particular, I’m very fond of berries. In a previous post, I talked about using frozen berries as an alternative for when they are not in season. But sometimes frozen berries aren’t enough. On a grocery shopping expedition a couple of days ago, my partner and I came across some gorgeous looking strawberries. They were $4 a punnet, which isn’t that bad considering blueberries and raspberries are fetching $10 a punnet right now. Fresh strawberries are amazing with porridge, and initially, the punnet we bought was intended to be part of our brekkie. That’s until I stumbled across a recipe for a Strawberry Fangipane Tart. I’ve never made a frangipane tart before (even though I’ve eaten plenty – the story of my life) and I’ve never made my own pastry from scratch either, so this recipe kind of got me a little excited! There’s always a first time for everything, right? This tart serves 8-10 people.

‘Miss my Strawberries’ Frangipane Tart
250g unsalted butter, softened
250g caster sugar
4 eggs
60g plain flour
2 cups (250g) almond meal
1 cup (320g) strawberry jam
250g punnet strawberries, hulled and halved
¼ cup (35g) macadamias
Double thick cream, to serve

Shortcrust pastry
11/3 cup (200g) plain flour
1/3 cup (50g) icing sugar, plus extra to dust
100g chilled unsalted butter, cubed
1 egg lightly beaten

This recipe calls for a 24cm loose-bottomed tart pan. If your pan is non-stick, you don’t need to do anything to prepare it. If your pan isn’t non-stick, use a little butter to grease the pan.

For the shortcrust pastry, pulse the flour, icing sugar and a pinch of salt in a food processor, then add butter. Whiz it all up to fine crumbs. Add the egg and whiz it again until the mixture just comes together. Shape the pastry into a disc, then wrap it in cling wrap and chuck it in the fridge to chill for 30 minutes.

Pulse dry ingredients with butter Add egg a whiz until it just comes together Shape pastry into disc and wrap in cling wrap

Once chilled, roll the pastry out on a lightly floured work surface to 4-5mm thick. Line the tart pan with the pastry, then chuck it all back in the fridge again to chill for 15 minutes.

Roll pastry out Line tart pan with pastry

Preheat oven to 180°C (fan forced). Line the pastry case with baking paper and fill with pastry weights. If you don’t have pastry weights, you can use uncooked rice or dried beans. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove the weights and paper, and bake for a further 10 minutes or until golden. Set aside to cool slightly.

Line tart pastry with baking paper and add baking weights Bake pastry until golden

Beat the remaining butter and caster sugar with an electric beater until thick and pale. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each one. Fold in the flour and almond meal.

Beat butter and sugar Add egg 1 at a time Fold in flour and almond meal

Spread jam over the pastry base; then spoon the almond meal mixture over jam. Top with strawberries and macadamias; then bake for 40 minutes or until golden and set. Leave tart to cool completely in tart pan before transferring to a serving plate.

Bonne Maman jam - my favouritest jam of all time!

Bonne Maman jam – my favouritest jam of all time!

Spread jam on pastry Spoon almond meal mixture over jam Top with strawberries and macadamias

Dust the tart with a little icing sugar and serve with cream.

Bake until golden and set

Note: I found this recipe in the October 2012 issue of Delicious magazine. I’ve tried to find this particular recipe online but haven’t been successful, so I can’t provide a link to the original recipe. I haven’t made any amendments to the original recipe. I found the frangipane in this tart quite sweet, especially in combination with the strawberry jam. I would probably reduce the caster sugar by 50g in the almond meal mixture the next time I make this, otherwise, this tart is absolutely delicious!

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “I really miss berries….

  1. Amazing looking tart – and you’ve never made pastry before??? What a spectacular 1st attempt! Yum.

  2. This is gorgeous and sounds delicious! Don’t look at my cocktail recipe from Friday, or you will feel sadder about your berry situation. Just know that you will be dancing around talking about your fresh berries when those of us in the US are eating Brussels sprouts and mealy apples.

  3. Your winter sounds like our summer… Nice tart!
    If you can find pastry flour (low gluten) instead of plain flour, your pastry will shrink less.

    • I know, I don’t have much to complain about winter in Adelaide. Thank you for the tip, I was wondering about the shrinkage and whether I should use proper pastry flour. I thought, maybe, I hadn’t let the pastry chill enough.

      • Allowing it to rest will also help, because that will give the gluten more time to relax. You could easily allow it to rest for 24 hours. You could even freeze the whole thing if you have that much space in the freezer (I don’t).

  4. This tart looks just gorgeous. I have to look into Stefan’s suggestion above.
    Bonne Maman jam is my most favorite jam of all time too! 😀

  5. Yum! I was thinking about Sydney’s lack of berries the other day – $10 punnets are ridiculous! I recently found $3 strawberries and bought like five punnets because I was so excited. Great recipe =]

  6. thedessertcourse on said:

    I just found your blog after you liked my Carrot Cake recipe (thanks by the way!) – frangipane tarts are my absolute favourite, I always enjoy discovering a new one. I’ve done a recipe using frozen berries that is glazed with jam.
    Also, totally agree – discovering cheap-ish berries is like hitting gold for a food nerd like me!

    • Well, I’m a HUGE fan or carrot cake! I’m counting down the days until summer berries are back in season. Frozen berries are great, but I do love them fresh. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

