thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The Cooking Chook ditches the corporate life

This post has come quite late. I actually ditched corporate life about 4 months ago, but I haven’t had an opportunity since quitting work to be able to reflect on what has happened. Why did I ditch the corporate life? To make an extremely long story short, I quit the corporate life to pursue a career in Medicine. I decided very late last year, that I would quit work to go back to being a full-time student. I’ve always wanted to be a Doctor, but things didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted (they never do, do they?). I’ve ended up taking the scenic route, and I still haven’t quite reached my destination yet. If you’re interested in a bit more background to my story, check out this previous post. Here are some musings on the last six months in the life of The Cooking Chook….

Things I won’t miss about corporate life

  • Having to work ridiculous hours, and not being remunerated for them because you’re on a salary.
  • Flying around the country at ridiculous hours of the day, and still having to work a full day.
  • Working with numb-nuts that make you think how on Earth did they get their job.
  • Annual performance and 90 day plans. These reports were the bane of my existence. I had to put to paper what work I was going to be doing over the year, and then every quarter.
  • Being asked to deliver a piece of work that will take you weeks, possibly months to do, in a matter of days.
  • Corporate speak. Some of the phrases that really give me the irrates include:
    1. We’re going to be restructuring.
    2. How does that sound to you?
    3. ‘What’s in scope’, and ‘what’s out of scope’.
    4. Before we can do anything, we need a scoping document.
    5. Sorry, we didn’t consider that because it wasn’t in scope.

If I ever hear the word ‘scope’ ever again, I’ll scream!

Things I will miss about corporate life

  • The money. I won’t lie, having an income does make life a little easier, despite the hardships at work.
  • Flying around the country and seeing places I wouldn’t normally see if I didn’t travel for work.
  • Corporate perks, e.g. nice hotels, nice meals at nice restaurants, corporate credit card.
  • My work teammates. I worked with a pretty special bunch of women who were a lot of fun and not at all bitchy (which is weird for women, right?).
  • Walking to and from work everyday. The Uni that I go to is a fair distance away from home, so I either drive or catch the bus. I used to walk 5kms everyday.
  • The food! Working in the CBD meant that I was spoilt for choice when it came to food, and my favourite food trucks would park right outside my office every Friday. I really miss my food trucks 😦

Things I love about being a student

  • I get to learn about things I’m really interested in EVERY SINGLE DAY! This probably sounds weird, but I absolutely love studying!
  • Student discounts – need I say more?
  • Hanging out with kids at least 10 years younger than me, and they have no idea how much older I am than them. The kids that I’ve worked with are really great, and they are so much fun to hang around. It makes you feel quite young at heart again.
  • The student lifestyle. After being in the workforce for more than a decade, studying full-time at Uni is a breeze. I’ve even overloaded on the topics I’m studying this semester, and I still have Fridays every week free!
  • Not having to wear business gear everyday.

So, all in all, I feel like I’ve made the right decision about quitting work and going back to studying. I may be in a worse off position financially (only temporarily), but I’m so happy. Not having to work and study at the same time has also given me more time to do other things I love, like cooking, baking and spending time with my family and friends. I haven’t felt this good about life in such a long time. Right now, life is pretty awesome!

So, dear readers…. Have you ever dropped everything to chase a dream? Was it a good or bad decision?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Cooking Chook ditches the corporate life

  1. I’m so proud of you babe. I’m still chasing my dreams too. I have every confidence we’ll both get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

