thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

To give thanks with chocolate

Mini FrangelicoI just finished my mid-year exams a few days ago. Five exams in eight days – phew! This was a testing point for me, to see if I really had the capability to go back to Uni to study the sciences at a high level, after more than a decade away from the books. I feel OK. I felt reasonably confident that I did well in my exams and in the subjects overall. Hopefully, when results come out in two weeks, I won’t be disappointed. For my last exam, I recruited my partner to help me study; a challenge in itself, because he’s an Accountant, not a fellow Scientist. I gave him all of my lectures notes, and asked him to ask me questions to test whether or not I was retaining anything. We spent a couple of hours doing this before I decided, enough was enough. If I didn’t know the content by now, it was too late anyway. So, I went to bed slightly anxious because there was A LOT of content for me to remember. The next morning was exam day. I was still feeling a little anxious, wishing that it was an afternoon exam rather than a morning exam to give me an extra few hours to study. I didn’t really need to worry though. The questions were fine and I felt confident throughout the entire exam. I have my partner to thank for that. With his help, I was able to recall what I needed. So, to thank him for his efforts, I made him a little treat for dessert last night – a mini chocolate mousse cake. This recipe is supposed to serve two people, however, we shared one last night and that was enough.

‘Thank you’ Mini chocolate mousse cakes
100g digestive biscuits
30g unsalted butter, melted
2 tsp cocoa powder
1 titanium strength gelatine leaf
2 tbs Frangelico
100g dark chocolate, chopped
1 egg, separated
¾ cup (185ml) thickened cream
Whipped cream, to serve

Satin glaze
50g dark chocolate
20g unsalted butter
2 tbs thickened cream
1 tsp glucose syrup

Toffee hearts
½ cup (100g) caster sugar

Grease and line two 10cm (base measurement) springform cake pans. Process the biscuits in food processor until finely crushed. If you don’t have a food processor, chuck the biscuits in a zip lock bag and crush using a rolling pin, or meat mallet. Place butter in a large bowl. Stir in the cocoa powder until smooth, and then stir in the biscuit crumbs. Press over the bases of the prepared pans. Whack the pans in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill.

Whiz the biscuits to fine crumbs Add crumbs to butter and cocoa powder Press crumbs into base and chill

Place gelatine in a bowl. Cover with cold water and set aside for 5 minutes to soften. Once softened squeeze the excess water out and stir the gelatine with the Frangelico in a small saucepan over low heat until the gelatine dissolves.

Dissolve gelatine in Frangelico

Chuck the chocolate into a heatproof bowl and melt over a saucepan of simmering water, ensuring that the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Cool for 5 minutes, then stir in the egg yolk and thickened cream until smooth. Carefully stir in the gelatine mixture.

Melty chocolate Add egg yolk, cream and gelatine mixture

Use an electric beater to beat the egg white in a bowl until stiff peaks form. Then use a large metal spoon to fold the egg whites into the chocolate mixture. Divide the chocolate mixture between the two pans, and whack them into the fridge to chill for 2 hours or until they’re firm.

Beat egg whites until firm peaks form Fold egg whites into chocolate mixture Divide chocolate mixture between pans

For the satin glaze, stir the chocolate, butter, cream and glucose syrup in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, once again ensuring the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water, for 3-4 minutes or until melted and smooth. Divide the chocolate mixture between the pans. Whack them back in the fridge to chill for another hour, or until the satin glaze is firm.

Stain glaze Divide satin glaze between the pans

To make the toffee hearts, preheat oven to 200°C (fan forced). Line a roasting dish with foil, then add a layer of baking paper on top. Sprinkle the sugar evenly over the baking paper. Chuck the dish in the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes until golden. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Carefully take out your roasting dish from the oven. Really quickly (and I mean, really quickly before the toffee hardens), use a metal spoon to drizzle the toffee into heart shapes on the prepared tray. Set aside for 10 minutes for the toffee to harden.

Cook sugar in oven Toffee heart

To serve, transfer the cakes to serving plates. Top with the whipped cream and toffee hearts.

Serve cake with whipped cream and toffee heart

Note: I have amended the original recipe slightly. If you would like to see the original recipe, click here. I used titanium strength gelatine leaves because that was all I had in my pantry. If you are using normal strength gelatine leaves, use two leaves instead of one. In regards to the liqueur, you don’t have to use Frangelico; you could use any liqueur that goes well with chocolate, e.g. Bailey’s, Cointreau etc.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “To give thanks with chocolate

  1. Oh, my god. That looks amazing! Also, congrats on the end of your exams! We’ll have to have our catchup soon 🙂

  2. I am giving thanks, as the article tells me. Thanks for sharing – looks delicious! 🙂

  3. Brings back great memories from med school days 😃

  4. What a lovely looking dessert, although I can’t help feeling that someone ought to have made one for you after all that studying!

  5. You make me hungry….

    Hi
    I wanted you to have this “Inner Peace Award” for all that you contribute to your blog, your readers, and your kindness towards myself and so many.
    Enjoy!!!
    Clarissa

    http://dishingitoutwithclarissa.com/2013/07/13/inner-peace-award/

  6. These little chocolate cakes looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

