thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Easy peasy spinach and feta triangles

You may have noticed a trend on The Cooking Chook. I eat a lot of food, but a lot of the foods I eat, I have never made from scratch before. Many times I have discovered that the foods I love to eat are actually quite simple to make, which makes me wonder why have I not made them myself previously. Spinach and feta triangles are no exception. I used to eat quite a few of these when I was younger at school, but being a Vietnamese-Australian, spinach and feta triangles weren’t really a food item on the regular menu at home. It wasn’t until I had a moment of nostalgia recently, reminiscing about the wonderful foods I used to eat as a kid that I had real hankering for these triangles. With Google and Taste.com.au as my friends, I found a lovely recipe that satisfied this hankering. I couldn’t believe how easy it was to make spinach and feta triangles, and I wish my partner and I took more time to savour them, rather than hoovering them all in one sitting. They were just too darn tasty! This recipe makes 12-15 triangles, depending on how much you fill them.

Easy peasy spinach and feta triangles
2 tsp olive oil
1 small brown onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2 bunches English spinach, leaves picked and washed
100g feta cheese, crumbled or finely chopped (I used greek feta)
2 tsp dried dill
1 tsp finely grated lemon rind
12-15 sheets filo pastry
125g butter, melted

Heat oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic. Cook, stirring, for 3 minutes or until onion has softened. Add spinach. Cook until the spinach has wilted. Transfer mixture to a colander or a sieve to drain. Cool for 10 minutes.

Cook onion and garlic Add spinach

Preheat oven to 160°C (fan forced). Line 2 large baking trays with baking paper. Chuck the spinach mixture into a large bowl. Stir in feta, dill and lemon rind. Season with salt and pepper.

Combine spinach mixture with other ingredients

Place 1 sheet of filo on a flat surface. Brush entire sheet of filo with butter. Top with another sheet of filo. Brush entire sheet of filo with butter, and top with final sheet of filo. Cut into 3 long strips. Cover remaining filo with a damp tea towel or some cling wrap.

Prepare 3 sheets of filo

Place 1 tablespoon of the spinach mixture in 1 corner of pastry. Fold over diagonally to form a triangle. Continue folding, retaining triangle shape. Place on baking tray. Repeat with remaining filo, butter and spinach mixture. Brush triangles with remaining butter. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden and crisp. Leave to cool slightly before serving.

Add 1 tablespoon of spinach mixtureFold filo on diagonalFold in triangle shapeBrush with melted butter before chucking in oven EAT!

Note: I have made slight amendments to the original recipe. If you would like to see the original recipe, click here.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Easy peasy spinach and feta triangles

  1. one of my all time fav foods – thanks!

  2. One day you’ll have to convince your other half to leave me at least one of your gorgeous baked morsels to try 🙂

  3. How lovely to be able to recreate a dish that you used to enjoy so much! I have only hazy memories of two dishes I loved at primary school, so I don’t think I could begin to recreate them 😦
    What beautiful little parcels these make – and I bet they were delicious.

  4. Love filo pies! They look very yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

