thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Quick and easy roast chicken – the brown paper bag way

I love me a good roast chicken! If you don’t believe me, check out this blog post. In fact, I’m roasting a chicken for dinner tonight but that’s not the topic of this blog post. As much as I love roasting a whole chicken, it does take a while and sometimes I don’t really want to wait that long to eat or I’m not that organised to start prepping for a roast chicken a couple of hours before dinner. So, if I see a recipe that can make my life easier but still give me a delicious meal, I’m more than happy to give it a crack. I was flicking through the most current issue of Taste.com.au magazine (September issue), and stumbled across an interesting recipe. It stated that I could have roast chicken in 30-40 minutes and it involved a brown paper bag. Roast chicken in 30-40 minutes?! *Winning* The recipe uses chicken pieces, not a whole chicken, so the cooking time is a lot less. How is the brown paper bag involved? Well, the chicken isn’t marinated or anything like that. You roast your chicken pieces, make up the spice mix, chuck a nice pinch of the spice mix into the brown paper bag with the chicken and shake. This will coat the chicken with a spice mix, and then you are ready to eat! How awesome is that?!?!?! Most of the time, I like to have chips with my roast chicken and normally, I’d get DBF to run down to our local chicken shop to get the chips whilst I roast the chicken at home. On this occasion, I thought I’d experiment with a cool recipe I found for home-made baked chunky chips. YUMMO! This recipe serves 4 people.

Spiced chook in a brown paper bag and baked potato chips
8 chicken drummies (or a mixture of chicken pieces)
1 tbs olive oil or vegetable oil
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbs smoked paprika
¼ tsp white pepper
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
½ tsp dried thyme
A few brown paper bags
4 large potatoes

Preheat oven to 160˚C (fan forced).

Peel the potatoes and cut into chucky chips. Chuck the chips into a large saucepan of cold salted water, and bring them to the boil. As soon as the chips have come to the boil, drain them, and transfer into a large bowl.

Boil the potatoes

Drizzle some olive oil over the chips and give them a toss until they are well covered in oil. Spread the chips evenly on a baking tray lined with baking paper.

Spread the potato chips on a tray

Brush the chicken drummies with oil and season with a bit of salt, then chuck the seasoned chicken onto a baking tray. Whack both the chicken and potato chips into the oven and roast for 30-40 minutes or until golden and cooked through. You may need to leave the chips in the oven for a little bit longer while you spice up your chicken. Once the chips are nice and golden brown, take them out of the oven and season to taste (I used chicken salt).

Chuck chicken pieces into a roasting tray

Combine the spices and thyme in a small bowl.

Spice mix

Place some of the chicken into a brown paper bag with a good pinch of the spice mix. Close up the bag and shake to coat the chicken. Depending on how big your bags are and how big the chicken pieces are (some of my drummies were thumpers!), you may need to use a few bags. Serve the chicken with the chippies.

Quick and easy roast chicken

Note: I have to say, this spice mix was really tasty! I amended the original chicken recipe slightly. I reduced the amount of both peppers by half because the cayenne pepper does pack a punch. If you would like to see the original recipe, it’s on page 79 of the September issue of Taste.com.au. The original recipe for the baked potato chips can be found here. Also, I had a bit of an issue with the bags when I was shaking the chicken in it. Because of the juices coming out of the chicken, the bags became wet and made them tear in the midst of my shaking. Therefore, some of the chicken pieces weren’t coated as well as they should be. If this happens, just sprinkle the spice mix over the chicken before serving.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Quick and easy roast chicken – the brown paper bag way

  1. I do something similar with chicken Maryland pieces. I love the thigh and leg meat rather than breast. I tend not to cook chips because I love potato gems (tatertots for US readers and Jewels for Aldi shoppers).

  2. ^^I agree, I adore chicken thigh. Looks like a great “hands on” dinner 🙂

    I do a similar thing but just with a plastic supermarket bag. Just make sure there are no holes. I would worry that I’d be too vigorous with my shaking for a brown paper bag!

  3. Hehe snap on the brown bag chicken recipe! And yes 40 mins minimum I think for that cooking temperature. Great idea getting the chips while this chicken was cooking 😀

  4. That is the way my mother made her fried chicken, shaken in a brown paper bag!
    I works well, doesn’t it?

  5. Yum, this looks so delicious! Love how you’ve baked your chips with loads of delicious spices. I also like to use chicken thigh- it’s always stays more moist and succulent 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

