thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The Cooking Chook does Christmas – Rocky Road

I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S THAT TIME OF THE YEAR AGAIN!!!!! Where has this year gone? It felt like only yesterday that I was doing Christmas, now I’m doing it all over again! This year I thought I’d try something a bit different. Inspired by the fact that I am an unemployed Uni bum, I thought I’d check out some Christmassy treats that I can make. My plan is to make several treats that I can put into a gift box, and give that to people for Christmas. First cab of the rank is Rocky Road. I love Rocky Road, so this recipe was kind of part Christmas gift idea, part satisfy my own hankering (you have to taste test any foodie gift you give, right?).Now, I’ve had my fair share of good and bad Rocky Road, and the best I’ve ever eaten had proper Turkish delight in it. There are some Rocky Road out there that don’t have Turkish delight in it, and it just doesn’t taste as good. So, if you decide to make some Rocky Road this Christmas, try and get your hands on some Turkish delight, you won’t be sorry! This recipe makes 25 squares.

Chrismassy Rocky Road
400g dark chocolate, chopped
250g Turkish delight, chopped (I used rosewater flavoured)
250g raspberry and vanilla marshmallows, coarsely chopped
100g walnuts, coarsely chopped
100g toasted whole almonds, coarsely chopped

Line the base and sides of a 23cm square cake pan with baking paper, allowing a couple of centimetres overhang.

Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, ensuring the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Use a metal spoon to stir occasionally so the chocolate doesn’t burn.

Melt chocolate

Chuck the Turkish delight, marshmallows, walnuts and almonds into a large bowl. Pour over the chocolate and use a metal spoon to gently mix to combine. Spoon the mixture into the prepared pan and spread out evenly. Leave for about 2 hours to set.

Combine everything into a bowl Mix in the chocolate Spread into prepared pan

Once set, turn the Rocky Road out onto a clean work surface. To make it easier for the Rocky Road to be cut into portions, run the blade of a large knife under hot water before cutting. Aim to cut portions in 4cm squares. Rocky Road can be stored in an airtight container, at room temperature.

Cut into squares

Note: I have made a slight amendment to the original recipe. If you would like to see the original recipe, click here. There are some varieties of Turkish delight that have pistachios, hazelnuts or walnuts in it. Considering this recipe already has nuts in it, get the plain Turkish delight without the nuts. Also, you can pretty much add whatever nuts you want. I only had walnuts and almonds in the pantry, so that’s what I used.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “The Cooking Chook does Christmas – Rocky Road

  1. Mmm… Looks good

  2. Aww man, I love rocky road and really really really want this one … And with Turkish Delight? Genius!

  3. Totally agree with you on turkish delight, rocky road is just not the same without it. I buy a big box at the beginning of December and use it in everything – rocky road, fudge and even brownies.

  4. How have I never had rocky road with Turkish delight?!? This sounds incredible!

  5. what a great dessert to share

  6. I am not a fan of Turkish Delight but LOVED this Rocky Road, chook. Well done, yet again 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

