thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Salad is totally boring…. Or is it?

I must admit, I don’t have a great repertoire of salad recipes. Sure, I’ve made the odd leafy salad, potato salad, chicken salad, tomato salad but my repertoire doesn’t really extend beyond that. I love a good hearty salad when the weather is warm or when I feel like I need a top up of greens in my diet, but I do get a bit bored with the variety of salads that I make (or lack thereof). So, I was a bit excited coming across a salad recipe in the February 2014 issue of Taste.com.au which ticked a few boxes for me. It was exciting, hearty (read – contained a good source of protein), easy to make and used one of my favourite ingredients, quinoa. The great thing about this salad was that it was hearty enough to make a proper meal out of it, so I didn’t feel hungry again a couple of hours after eating it (which is a risk if the salad resembles rabbit food). This salad serves 4, but I served half of it for dinner one night and took the other half to work for lunch the next day. If you decide to do this too, make sure you don’t dress the salad until you are ready to eat it so the salad greenage doesn’t go manky the next day.

Quinoa slaw with beef & pepper line dressing
½ tsp coriander seeds, crushed
2 tbs soy sauce
2 garlic cloves, crushed
500g piece rump steak, trimmed of excess fat
100g (½ cup) quinoa, rinsed
185ml (¾ cup) water
225g (¾ pkt) Woolworths Select Australian Grown Fine Cut Coleslaw
55g (1 cup) bean sprouts
1 red capsicum, thinly sliced
½ cup coriander leaves, washed, coarsely chopped
3 green shallots (spring onions), thinly sliced
60ml (¼ cup) lime juice
1½ tsp caster sugar
1 tsp peppercorns, crushed

Chuck the coriander seeds, soy sauce and half the garlic into a glass dish. Grind some fresh black pepper into the marinade and give it all a stir to combine. Add the steak and turn to coat with the marinade. Set aside for about 10 minutes.

Marinate steaks

Whilst the steak is marinating, bring the quinoa and water to the boil over medium heat, then turn the heat down to low and simmer for about 10 minutes or until the liquid is absorbed and the quinoa is tender. Drain the hot water, then run the quinoa under some cold water. Set aside to drain.

Cook quinoa until tender

In a large bowl, combine the coleslaw, bean sprouts, capsicum, coriander leaves, shallots and quinoa. I find it easier to use my hands (which are clean, of course) to combine, rather than using salad servers. Mix together the lime juice, sugar, crushed peppercorns and the remaining garlic in a small bowl. Do a taste test and further season, if necessary, and set aside.

Combine all the salady stuff in a large bowl

Heat a little bit of oil in a grill or fry pan over a medium-high heat. Drain any excess marinade from the steak and cook for about 2 minutes on each side, for medium or until cooked to your liking. Rest the steak for about 4 minutes before slicing into thin strips.

Cook steak until your liking

Chuck the strips of steak into the bowl with the cabbage mixture, then pour over the dressing. Give everything a bit of a gentle toss to combine before serving.

Hearty beefy salad

Note: I’ve amended the original recipe slightly which can be found on page 36 of the February 2014 issue of Taste.com.au magazine. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find it online, however, the change I made to the original recipe was using Woolworths Select Australian Grown Fine Cut Coleslaw instead of 150g shredded purple cabbage and 150g shredded wombok. I made this change for 2 reasons: 1) I’m lazy and couldn’t be bothered shredding the cabbages, and 2) it was really hard to find the cabbages pre-cut to the size I needed. Just in case you’re wondering, I am in no way affiliated with either Woolworths or Taste.com.au magazine 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Salad is totally boring…. Or is it?

  1. You may also like a ‘tagliata’, which is a rocket salad with sliced seared fillet of beef and slivers of cheese. I actually had it for the first time in Sydney, but it is Italian.

Leave a Reply

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Med School Know-How

Random Explanations That Helped Me Along the Way

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Lean Times

"... fuck medical school, really. It's just a means to an end. no more, no less. I won't let it take pieces of me I don't want to give away..."

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

I cook, photograph and eat food with the occasional restaurant review!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

