thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

The Cooking Chook turns 2!

She’s back….. Those who have been following me for a while may have noticed that I’ve been a bit quiet of late. Not for any particular reason apart from life just….happening. I noticed in my calendar that The Cooking Chook was having an anniversary this week, so I thought it was a perfect opportunity to get back on the baking-cooking-eating-blogging bandwagon. But what could I make to mark this special occasion? I turned to one of my favourite foodie blogs, The Paddington Foodie. A couple of weeks ago, I receive an email notification that The Paddington Foodie had published a new blog post titled ‘A Classic Combination. Chocolate And Orange Jaffa Brownie’. It definitely had me at ‘chocolate’It definitely had me at ‘chocolate’ but I was drawn in hook, line and sinker, at ‘orange jaffa brownie’. Chocolate and orange has got to be one of my all-time favourite flavour combos, and this particular recipe looked absolutely divine. Now, the intention was to bake this so I could have it all to myself to celebrate the anniversary, but on second thought, the brownie was too good not to share with my work colleagues. Since deciding to defer my studies and go back to full-time work this year, I’ve been getting into the habit of baking and bringing my creations into work to share. So far, I haven’t heard any complaints! The feedback on the brownies? Abso-friggin-lutely delicious! To ensure that there was enough to go around, I cut the brownie up into 36 pieces, but I think 16 pieces would be about right if you only wanted to share with a select few.

Chocolate and Orange Jaffa Brownie
Recipe by The Paddington Foodie, adapted from Slice Of Heaven, a recipe by Frank Camorra in The Sydney Morning Herald Spectrum Lift-Out August 9-10 2014.

180g butter
2 tbs coconut oil
200g dark chocolate, roughly chopped
Zest of 1 orange
1 tbs Cointreau
125g caster sugar
2 tbs cocoa powder
100g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs
120g hazelnuts, skinned

Preheat your oven to 170°C (fan forced). Line a 25cm square baking tin with baking paper.

In a large heatproof bowl, melt the butter, coconut oil and three-quarters of the chocolate over a saucepan of simmering water. Ensure the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Zest the orange into the bowl and add in the Cointreau. Mix until smooth.


Melt butter, coconut oil and chocolateAdd orange zest and Cointreau

In a separate bowl, add the cocoa powder, flour, baking powder and sugar, and mix until they’re all combined. Sift the dry ingredients to remove any lumps. Lightly beat the eggs and add them, one at a time, to the chocolate mixture. Make sure that the chocolate mixture is reasonably cool so you don’t end up cooking the eggs when you add them. Stir in the dry ingredients until just combined, then fold in the hazlenuts and the rest of the chocolate.

Add eggs, dry ingredients and hazlenuts

Pour the brownie mix into the baking tray, and chuck it in the oven for around 25 minutes. If you insert a skewer into the middle and it doesn’t come out clean, don’t worry, brownies are best when they are a bit gooey on the inside. If gooey brownies are not your cup of tea, bake for an extra 5-10 minutes.

Pour batter into prepared pan

Allow to cool in the tin, then carefully transfer onto a large chopping board and cut into chunky squares.

Cut into squares and serve

Note: I haven’t made any amendments to The Paddington Foodie’s recipe, but if you would like to see the original recipe, click on the link provided above. These brownies are AMAZING served warm with the extra chopped chocolate oozing as you bite into them…NOMS!

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “The Cooking Chook turns 2!

  1. Good to see you back. I’ve missed you.

  2. Yay! Welcome back hon! I really wish I worked in the same office as you so I could try these goodies 🙂

  3. I read this post and immediately baked another batch. Your photo reminded me of just how good they really are. Isn’t Frank Camorra a genius. I can’t think of a nicer way to celebrate a blogoversary. Congratulations and welcome back.

  4. Welcome back! You’re right about chocolate and orange being a good combination. How about substituting the hazelnuts with candied orange peel?

    • Candied orange peel would be AMAZING! I’d even add them WITH the hazlenuts for something different. Thanks for the suggestion Stefan!

    • We missed you!! I’ve been a bit remiss in keeping up with many of the blogs I follow… and it seems that quite a few have seemed to have ‘thrown in the towel’…a as we Americans used to say.
      I, myself, ended up not posted at all last summer… I like to say that life sometimes gets in the way. And it seems your life ‘got in the way’ for awhile.
      We’re all so glad you’re back!! ; o )

    • Hi my friend Stefan – how about using both candied orange AND hazelnuts?! ; o )

  5. Love love love these brownies!

Leave a comment

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Baking and cooking recipes for everyone

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Mostly meat and my opinions on life

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

Flora's Table

Because we are Cooks, not Chefs!

pikeonaplate

An online food diary, by Pike.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre