thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jamie Oliver, you are bloomin’ right about these brilliant brownies!

I love brownies. I love brownies that are crispy on the outside and gooey on the inside. There’s something about that gooeyness that makes brownies incredibly decadent. Until recently, I didn’t know how to make brownies which is ridiculous because they are SO easy to make. This particular recipe was passed on by a friend so I didn’t even need to do any internetty research and it is so amazingly good, that I haven’t bothered looking for any other recipes since. And it would be a shame if I didn’t share this recipe like my friend shared with me, because you would be missing out on something really special. Jamie Oliver, you are right about these brownies because they are indeed brilliant! Apparently this recipe makes about 20 serves of brownies, but I think making the slices a little bigger to serve 16 is better. I guarantee you’ll want more than just one slice.

Jamie Oliver’s Bloomin Brilliant Brownies
250g unsalted butter
200g dark cooking chocolate, broken up
70g chopped nuts
80g cocoa powder, sifted
65g plain flour, sifted
1 tsp baking powder
300g caster sugar
4 large eggs

Preheat your oven to 180°C (fan forced). Line a 25cm square baking tin with baking paper.

In a large heatproof bowl, melt the butter and the chocolate over a saucepan of simmering water. Ensure the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Mix until smooth. Add the nuts and stir to combine.

Melt butter and chocolateAdd nuts

In a separate bowl, add the cocoa powder, flour, baking powder and sugar, and mix until they’re all combined. Sift the dry ingredients to remove any lumps, then add this to the chocolate and nut mixture. Stir together well. Beat the eggs and mix until you have a silky consistency.

Combine and sift dry ingredients Add dry ingredients to chocolate mixtureMix everything until smmoth

Pour the brownie mix into the baking tray, and chuck it in the oven for around 25 minutes. Don’t worry if you insert a skewer into the middle and it doesn’t come out clean, you want the brownie to be a bit gooey on the inside.

Pour into cake tin

Allow to cool in the tin, then carefully transfer onto a large chopping board and cut into chunky squares.

Cut into squares and serve

Note: I have amended the original recipe slightly, so if you would like to see the original recipe, click here. You can eat the brownies on their own, but I like eating these heated up a little with a large dollop of cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream *drool*

Single Post Navigation

42 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver, you are bloomin’ right about these brilliant brownies!

  1. I’ll have to try this recipe. I don’t have a reliable brownie recipe which is absurd when I do so much baking. My SIL has a great brownie recipe but I never manage to quite get it written down.

  2. alwayshungry4 on said:

    That looks DELICIOUS!!

    • Yeah – these brownies are pretty delicious. And what makes them even better is the smell of chocolate that wafts through the house when it’s baking is to die for! Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post. 🙂

  3. Are they even better than Nigella’s?!

    • This is the first and only brownie recipe that I have ever tried so I can’t make any comment on whether they are better than Nigella’s. I think someone has posted the link to Nigella’s recipe in their comment below, so I might just have to try that recipe and do a comparison (good excuse to make more brownies).

      • Who needs an excuse? Do you know whether it is a problem to post other people’s recipes on a blog or not? Is it OK as long as you acknowledge the source?

      • I’m not an expert with that respect, so I can’t really answer your questions. I will always acknowledge the source of any recipe that is not my own creation (and provide the link to the original recipe), because without that original source, I don’t have a recipe or the yummy results.

      • Thank you! Happy Sunday!

  4. This looks soo delicious!

  5. Incredible! I am a sucker for brownies.

  6. They look good. I can recommend Nigella’s flourless brownies as well:

    http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/flourless-chocolate-brownies-with-hot-chocolate-sauce-22

    Made those for Mrs Peckish’s work shout. I was sorry to see them leave home.

  7. Yummy!

  8. ayna on said:

    Crispy and gooey, exactly why I love brownies! 🙂

  9. Damn, I’m trying to be on a diet at the moment! 😀 They look very good…

    • Sorry 😛 You could bake a batch and share them, that way you’re not eating the entire thing. That’s my strategy considering there is only two people in my household; I’d end up eating everything if I didn’t give things away.

  10. Thanks for sharing. They look super chocolatey…yum!

  11. Great post! Perhaps you’ll think I’m crazy, but try adding a bit of espresso powder and salt to your brownies. Both will enhance the chocolate flavor. Or you could of course try this recipe, which I got from another blogger and are the best brownies I’ve ever had 🙂 http://stefangourmet.com/2013/02/03/chocolate-packed-brownies/

    • Thanks Stefan! I’ve used expresso powder in a chocolate cake I made recently, and you are right, it does enhance the flavour. I’ll have to try that recipe you’ve provided – thank you. 🙂

  12. These look delicious, thanks for the recipe!

  13. Taylor and I made them, so yummy and we’re so happy they are low fat too!
    Well, that’s our story anyway 😉

  14. petit4chocolatier on said:

    Wow! These look incredible 🙂

  15. I love brownies, yours look amazing and are making me want to bake some this weekend. I have an old recipe which has marshmallows in it, it makes them so chewy and delicious just like a brownie should be. I’ve tasted awful brownies in the past that were just massive chunks of dry chocolate cake.

  16. Jacintha on said:

    I’ve made this few times and it was always a hit among my friends.but today i accidentally put baking soda instead of baking powder and the texture is too light and airy, not fudgey at all. And the worst part is the taste. how do i mask the metallic taste? Any idea?

  17. I’ll definitely have to try these! they look great! Thanks for checking out my blog! I hope you’ll like it enough to follow! p.s. I absolutely LOVE your header! There’s nothing I like better than some good french macarons!

  18. Hi,
    Now I have to try another a new recipe for Brownies… Darn (I say as sarcastically as possible…LOL) At least I know what I am making on Wednesday for desert! Thanks!

    • LOL! You can never have enough brownie recipes! I hope you enjoy the recipe (and brownies) as much as I do. Jamie Oliver did very well with this recipe – it’s truly delicious! Let me know how you go with it 🙂

  19. Hi,
    I’ve made these brownies countless times now, they are my go to recipe and I always get rave reviews! My only question is how do you get such nice straight edges on your cut pieces? Mine always seem to crumble off a bit, do you use a special knife or any techniques?
    Thanks!

    • Hi Rachel – thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog post! I don’t really do anything special to get the straight edges when cutting the brownies up. I let the brownies cool completely before cutting and use a serrated knife.

  20. Pingback: Brownies | ...

Leave a comment

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Baking and cooking recipes for everyone

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Mostly meat and my opinions on life

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

Flora's Table

Because we are Cooks, not Chefs!

pikeonaplate

An online food diary, by Pike.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre