thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Nacho Nacho Chook

Every time I make this dish, I always have that scene of Homer, from The Simpsons, singing “Nacho Man” when Flanders gets him a nacho hat running through my head. If you get a chance, check out this Youtube clip of the scene I’m referring to – really quite funny. Anyway, back to the food…. I must admit, I haven’t eaten a lot of authentic Mexican food but I do like the flavours associated with this cuisine. A few years ago, I bought myself a Nigella Lawson cookbook called Nigella Express, and it’s now one of my favourite cookbooks. In this cookbook is a Tex-Mex inspired recipe called Quick Chilli which takes next to no time to make. This dish is a regular in my household because of the flexibility of being able to serve it as a snack (as nachos topping), or as a larger meal (served with steamed rice). My favourite ingredient in this dish is the chorizo sausage…..need I say more? This recipe serves 4 people.

Nacho Nacho Chook
1 spicy chorizo sausage, halved lengthways and cut into 5mm half moons
500g minced beef
½ tsp ground cumin
½ tsp ground coriander
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1 jar chunky pasta sauce (I use Leggo’s with tomato, garlic and herbs, 575g)
1 can mixed beans (I use Edgell’s Four Bean Mix, 420g)
Corn chips
Grated cheese
Store bought guacamole (I know, terribly lazy)

Heat a fry pan over medium heat and add the chorizo.  Cook until the chorizo is a little crispy and starts releasing its oil. Remove the  chorizo from the fry pan and set aside, reserving the oil as this will be used to cook the mince.

Add the mince and cook for about 5 minutes or until it changes colour. Use a wooden spoon to break up the meat whilst cooking.

Add the spices and stir to combine. Add the pasta sauce and beans. Bring to the boil, then turn the heat down and simmer for about 20 minutes.

To serve, place a layer of corn chips on a plate, spoon the meat mixture over the chips and top with cheese and guacamole. Easy, yeah?

Note: If you wanted to serve this with steamed rice, start cooking the rice at the same time as you are cooking the chorizo so it will be ready by the time you finish cooking altogether. I have amended Nigella’s original recipe, which can be found on page 236 of Nigella Express.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Nacho Nacho Chook

  1. Sean Breslin on said:

    Looks so tasty…love the presentation!

  2. I’m going to need these nachos in my life, pronto! They look super tasty.

  3. Yummmm I love Chorizo 🙂 Nachos with lotssssss of cheese 😉

  4. I have a constant craving for Mexican food and these nachos are just intensifying it right now. They look great! Love the addition of the chorizo.

  5. YES! Someone else quotes from the Simpsons and posts youtube video clips too! I love the Simpsons – it’s one of the most brilliant shows that’s ever aired, in my opinion. And these nachos look crazy good. I haven’t made them in a long time so you’ve inspired me to try this recipe soon.

  6. Ooh, I’m definitely going to have to try this! Thanks for dropping by 🙂

    • And thank you for checking out my post! you know the thing about the phones – my friends and I play that game too. Everyone seems to love checking in on fb, or posting pics on Instagram and twitter so sometimes you need to put your foot down. Mind you, I am guilty of all things I have listed :-/

      • Haha, yes I find myself getting distracted by my camera all the time too…but hey, it’s good to hear that there are other people who can wait a little later for the latest facebook post or tweet! 🙂 kudos.

Leave a comment

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Baking and cooking recipes for everyone

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Mostly meat and my opinions on life

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

Flora's Table

Because we are Cooks, not Chefs!

pikeonaplate

An online food diary, by Pike.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre