thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

These are a few of my favourite things – Girlie time and day spas

Endota spaIt’s taken me a long time to get into the habit of taking time out for me. I’ve always been a restless person, always on the go, juggling fifty bijillion things all at once in both my work life and personal life. It wasn’t until I became really unwell a few of years ago, that I realised I needed to schedule in time to unwind. At the time, I was working full time and travelling interstate A LOT for work. I was also studying part time, trying to finish off my Business degree. I really did not have any ‘down’ time whatsoever, and my health suffered significantly. In the end, I was advised by my Doctor that I had to slow down and take better care of myself. It was hard for me to concede that I was not Wonder Woman (although I would happily dress up as her) and that I couldn’t do everything all at once all the time. So, I made a vow to myself that I would make a concerted effort to schedule in time to not do anything related to work or study, and everything related to relaxation and ‘me time’. This was when my dear friend Cass and I decided to start our regular pamper sessions at Endota Day Spa. Every six months or so, generally around End of Financial Year (we both work in the Financial Services industry), and our birthdays (between September and December to mutually celebrate getting older), we would schedule ourselves in to have an hour long treatment mid-morning, then head off to brunch at Nano which is located in the laneway behind the day spa. This is what we had the last time we had our ‘date’….Nano omlette Nano bruschetta

Our treatment, called the Mind treatment, would consist of the following:

  • billabong footbath and organic foot scrub
  • back massage
  • foot massage
  • arm massage
  • scalp massage
  • body brushing and moisturising

We would book a ‘double’ room where we could have the treatment in the same room together, so we could chat whilst being pampered. On this particular day, my therapist was Alex (really lovely guy) who happened to be Cass’s therapist the last time we had a treatment!

Waiting roomFree relaxing herbal teasBillabong footbath

Double room

Alex the therapist

I’m not really a ‘girlie’ girl when it comes to this stuff (I’ve never had a facial, manicure or pedicure), but I really love my day spa sessions, and I love being able to share it with one of best friends. How am I feeling now? A lot better since making more of an effort at maintaining a better work/lifestyle balance. I’ve also taken up meditation, which has helped me tremendously. So, what is the moral of the story? Don’t underestimate how important it is to take some regular time out for yourself. Don’t wait until you burn out, like I did. Prevention is always better than cure.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things – Girlie time and day spas

  1. Great to read you’re taking me time seriously 🙂

  2. Great job! So wonderful that you are taking time off for some “me” time, to re-enegerize and re-charge. Pampering is contagious coz I am itching for one too 🙂

  3. Oh what would I give for just one day at the spa! You are so lucky! 🙂

  4. I like your prevention style!

Leave a comment

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Baking and cooking recipes for everyone

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Mostly meat and my opinions on life

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

Flora's Table

Because we are Cooks, not Chefs!

pikeonaplate

An online food diary, by Pike.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre