thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

How goes a Mango?

Apart from summer berries, one of the fruits that I love eating this time of year in Australia is the mango. My parents, being South-East Asian, ate a lot of mangoes throughout my childhood, so I grew up sharing their love of this sweet, fleshy fruit. Normally, we would eat mangoes after dinner as an after dinner dessert. My parents weren’t really big on cakes or anything like that after dinner; instead, we would have a plate of fruit and an Asian tea of some sort. Boy, have things changed since I left home! I’ve transitioned from having fruit to having ‘proper’ dessert, that is, baked goods, cakes, chocolate and other sweet delights! Reminiscing about family dinners got me thinking. Why not combine the two kinds of desserts? Whilst flicking through the December 2013 issue of Taste.com.au magazine, I came across a feature article on mangoes. A beautiful mango tart with a lemongrass custard filling caught my eye which I thought was a perfect mash up of my past love and my current love of desserts. There was a slight hitch making this tart though. The fluted tart pan I have is a little bigger that what the original recipe called for, so the filling layer was not as thick as I would’ve liked, but the combination of flavours was still very tasty! This tart serves 6 people.

How goes a Mango tart
300ml thickened cream
3 lemongrass stems, bruised
3 egg yolks
⅓ cup (75g) caster sugar
1 bronze-strength gelatine leaf (equates to 3.3g of gelatine)
2 ripe mangoes, peeled, thinly sliced

Coconut pastry
1⅓ cups (200g) plain flour (I used Lighthouse Biscuit & Pastry Plain Flour)
100g chilled unsalted butter, chopped
⅓ cup (30g) desiccated coconut
1 tbs icing sugar

Chuck the cream and lemongrass in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to just below boiling point, remove from the heat and set aside for 1 hour to infuse.

Heat cream with lemongrass

To make the pastry, blitz the flour, butter, coconut and icing sugar in a processor to combine. Add 3 tbs chilled water, then blitz again until the mixture comes together in a ball. Wrap the pastry dough in cling wrap and whack in the fridge to chill for 30 minutes.

Put dry ingredients and butter into processor Blitz until combined Add 3 tbs water and blitz until dough forms - Copy

Roll the pastry on a lightly floured surface to 2mm thick. I did this part on some lightly floured baking paper, so the pastry wouldn’t stick to my bench top. Grease a 13cm x 36cm loose-bottomed tart pan (the original recipe calls for a 10cm x 34cm tart pan) and line the tart pan with the pastry, trimming any excess. Whack it in the fridge to chill for 20 minutes.

Line fluted tart tin with pastry dough

Preheat oven to 180°C (fan forced). Line the pastry with baking paper and evenly place some pastry weights or uncooked rice over the top. Blind-bake the pastry for 10 minutes, then carefully remove the baking paper and weights, and return to the oven for 5-7 minutes or until golden, crisp and dry (you can bake the case for longer if necessary, but keep checking so it doesn’t end up burnt). Set the pastry aside to cool in the tart pan.

Bake until golden

Beat the yolks and sugar with an electric beater until thick and pale. Add the cream, making sure you remove the lemongrass first. Soak the gelatine leaf in cold water for 5 minutes. Pour the cream mixture into a saucepan and cook over low heat for 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly, until thickened slightly. Remove from heat. Squeeze the excess water from the gelatine, and add to the cream mixture. Stir to completely dissolve the gelatine. Cool the cream mixture completely, before pouring into the tart case. Chill for a couple of hours until it’s firm, then top with overlapping mango slices.

beat egg yolk and sugar until thick and pale Mix in cream mixture Fill with cream mixture and top with sliced mango

Note: I’ve made very minor changes to the original recipe based on what I had on hand at the time, so if you would like to see the original recipe, click here.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “How goes a Mango?

  1. Gorgeous recipe and lovely memories! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. We had a Kensington tree in the back yard and my grandparents regularly went to the early morning markets in Brisbane and they’d buy cases of mangoes at good prices. Mangoes are my favourite fruit.

    • If I remember correctly, I think the mangoes I used were Kensingtons. My parents have a mango tree in their back yard too but it’s a little inconsistent with bearing fruit. Adelaide doesn’t have the same climate as Brisbane, so I figure that’s the reason why.

  3. Yum!! The addition of lemongrass sounds delightfully interesting. :)~

  4. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I
    have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing
    to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a comment

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Baking and cooking recipes for everyone

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Mostly meat and my opinions on life

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

Flora's Table

Because we are Cooks, not Chefs!

pikeonaplate

An online food diary, by Pike.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre