thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Patience and perserverance

GAMSATpa·tience (pshns)

noun

–  the capacity to accept or tolerate delay, problems, or suffering without becoming annoyed or anxious

Today, after 159 days of waiting, I was notified that I was not successful in gaining an interview at a medical school I applied for. I have always wanted to be a Doctor, but I wasn’t ready for the commitment required to get into the undergraduate medicine course straight out of high school. When I graduated from University the first time with a science degree, I was sick of being a poor student and was ready to earn some money. Hence, my entry into the financial services industry.  Not long after finishing my first degree, I decided to start another degree that was more related to my employment but I wasn’t challenged by the content and, at that point, I was also unsatisfied with job. My heart lay with the sciences and until I was able to immerse myself in it every day, I wasn’t going to be happy.

That’s where my journey to become a Doctor began….. In Australia, there are two ways that you can get into medical school; you either try and get in straight out of high school (undergraduate), or complete any degree, sit the Graduate Australian Medical School Admissions Test (GAMSAT) and use the results of that and your degree to gain a place at one of the consortium schools (postgraduate). Because I had already completed a degree, my only option was to take the postgraduate route.  The overall score for my science degree was pretty woeful, so my next degree was my opportunity to improve my situation.  For the next few years, after my decision to go down the medicine path, I worked my tush off and managed to get my grade point average (GPA) up enough to be competitive.  Then I had to tackle the beast they call GAMSAT.  This test is a 5.5 hour long exam which tests your reasoning skills in the social sciences, humanities and the biological/physical sciences.  I was dropped off at the testing centre a 8am, and I did not leave until 4:30pm the same day.  The test is not for the faint hearted. It definitely tests your physical and mental stamina.

After you sit the test, you have to wait about 8 weeks for results. Then, after you receive your results, you can apply for an interview at 12 different medical schools around Australia. When applications close, you have to wait approximately 3 months to see whether or not any of the schools you apply for will offer you an interview.  An offer for an interview does not mean you have a place to study at University.  You have to get a good enough score when you interview to be offered a place.  And this brings me to today….. no interview = no chance to get into medical school for 2013.

per·se·ver·ance (pûrs-vîrns)

noun

– persistence in doing something despite difficulty or delay in achieving success

When you want something bad enough, you will do anything to get it.  This is how I feel about medicine and becoming a Doctor.  I plan to sit the GAMSAT again next year. I have even started revising for it, seven months before the proposed test date. The moral of the story is; don’t give up on your dreams even if it seems like it is unobtainable. Nothing is ever achieved by quitting.  Here’s to GAMSAT 2013.

All definitions were referenced from http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Patience and perserverance

  1. I got the EOD and will try again next year. To have a dream and chase after it relentlessly is what makes life worth living.

    • I totally agree that chasing your dreams makes life worth living. My thoughts are with you Andri. Good Luck for next year. Hopefully, we will both have some good news to share this time next year.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing 🙂

  2. Pingback: The art of having a Plan B « thecookingchook

  3. Pingback: Here I go again….. « thecookingchook

Leave a comment

Pastry Affair

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

A Sweeter Thing

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

rabbitcanbake

baking cake that bring joy to your tastebud, smile to your face and happiness to your belly

Bookabye Baby

Book reviews, plus stuff and things

d.n.leslie

eat, see, play, feel, travel, learn, teach........& stuff!!

The Paddington Foodie

Food That Makes Me Smile

David Lebovitz

Baking and cooking recipes for everyone

Rabbitcancook

a recipe sharing and bento blog

French Food Fool

Cooking & Eating & Living in Paris (& Leaving it, sometimes)

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Epicuriously

Eat | Entertain | Explore

Not Quite Nigella - Recipes, Restaurants and Travel

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

my sweet addiction

a conversation about all things sweet

whiskitforabiscuit

it's worth the whisk...

thecookingchook

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

I Eat Therefore I Am

The personal stories and adventures of a nerdy food lover.

Yummy Lummy

Mostly meat and my opinions on life

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Girl On Grill Action

Stick a fork in it

Flora's Table

Because we are Cooks, not Chefs!

pikeonaplate

An online food diary, by Pike.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre